Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Geography - Try These First |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1951-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
Geography - More Specifically |
|
| AAPG datapages | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - access to all publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists: journal articles, books / chapters, conference papers / abstracts, guide-books, etc + similar publications from ~40 petroleum geology societies from around the world. | |
| ABC CLIO eBook collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1991-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health. | |
| AgEcon search : research in agricultural and applied economics | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers scholarly literature in agricultural & applied economics, including: agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, agricultural trade, etc.; search results include full-text of journal articles, conference papers & working papers. | |
| AGRICOLA | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers all aspects of agriculture & allied disciplines, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. | |
| AGRIS | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises more than 7.8 million records describing world research literature on agricultural research & technology - covers journal articles, conference papers, books, theses, data, statistics, multimedia material, etc. - subjects include aquaculture, fisheries, forestry, crop science, animal husbandry, food, human nutrition and more. | |
| American bibliography of Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies : ABSEEES | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1939-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Subjects: anthropology; culture & the arts; economics; politics; education; and geography - Journal articles, books & their chapters, dissertations, online resources and government documents are indexed - See EBSEES for additional coverage. | |
| Arctic & Antarctic regions | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles. | |
| Arts & humanities database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals. | |
| ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers fisheries, aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation & environmental quality, brackish & marine environments, marine biotechnology, oceanography, limnology & freshwater environments, maritime policy & legislation - over 1 million records describing journal articles, technical / government reports, books, conference publications. | |
| Bibliography of Asian studies | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| CanMap content suite | |
Coverage: |
|
| Authorized users: Memorial University of Newfoundland students, faculty, and staff. For educational and research purposes only. For access, e-mail qeiiinfo@mun.ca. CanMap Content Suite contains more than 300 mapping layers and includes coast-to-coast GIS data from CanMap Streetfiles, CanMap RouteLogistics, and CanMap Postal Code Suite, plus topographic information including water, rail, parks, land use and enhanced points of interest (EPOI), utility infrastructure, police and fire stations, provincial and municipal boundaries, and street network and routing attribution (speed limits, turn restrictions, etc). | |
| CGRG bibliography of Canadian geomorphology | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-2014 present available online: |
|
| Index - covers 26,000 records describing publications & presentations on geomorphology in Canada: aeolian, applied, coastal, fluvial, glacial, hillslope, hydrological, karst, periglacial, permafrost & offshore geomorphology - also covers records describing Canadian Quaternary/Holocene environments. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| EconLit with Full Text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1886-present available online: |
User Guide |
| EconLit includes the most sought-after economics publications including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews--all expertly indexed, classified, and linkable to full-text library holdings. | |
| Eighteenth century collections online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-1799 available online: |
|
| Full-text - Over 180,000 titles - Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera - Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies. | |
| Encyclopedia of life support systems | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2004-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - compendium of twenty multi-volume encyclopedias covering trans-disciplinary relationships between nature & human society - disciplinary & interdisciplinary articles cover environmental & health aspects of the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering & technology ; discuss effective approaches for managing natural resources like renewable & non-renewable energy, biodiversity, ecology, hydrology, health, agriculture & more. | |
| European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : EBSEES = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1991-2007 available online: |
|
| Index - Over 85,500 titles - Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern Europe (former Communist countries) that were published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Great Britain, and Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland - Covers the social sciences and humanities. | |
| GeoRef | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1669-present (North America); 1933-present (rest of the world) available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 3.4+ million records describing articles from 3,500 journals as well as books/chapters, maps, geological survey documents & society reports, conference papers, theses / dissertations, etc. - covers all the geosciences: areal, economic, engineering, environmental, extraterrestrial, structural & surficial geology, geochemistry & geophysics, hydrogeology & hydrology, marine geology & oceanography, mineralogy & crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology & stratigraphy. | |
| GEOSCAN | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1843-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - includes 60,000+ records describing scientific publications from the Geological Survey of Canada, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Canadian topographic maps and outside publications by staff from Natural Resources Canada Earth Science Sector [ESS] - provides links to publications available online or for free download. | |
| GeoScienceWorld | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1890-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - access scholarly journals produced by leading earth science societies & research institutes - offers specialized & graphical searching capabilities which are linked & inter-operable with the GeoRef bibliographic search database - MUN Libraries offer full-text access to GSW journals only. | |
| GIS bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1890-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers the literature of geographic information systems, science & technology - comprises 135,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers / proceedings, books / chapters & reports from the origins of GIS to the present. | |
| HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1935-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year. | |
| IEEE Xplore | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Full content 1988-present ; select IEEE content 1913-1987; select IET content 1965-1987 available online: |
User Guide |
| Standards and Full Text - Over 1 million full text articles from over 12,000 publications - Includes access to literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related fields - Contains IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. | |
| Index Islamicus | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1906-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters. | |
| Invasive species compendium | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts, full-text - over 1500 full datasheets on invasive species and animal diseases have been developed for inclusion in the ISC - includes full text articles, a bibliographic database with links to over 75,000 abstracts and a glossary of over 780 terms and definitions. | |
| PAIS index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers international policy oriented literature: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science & technology - Comprises 625,800 records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1923-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - includes 1,090,000+ records describing published research from the U.S., Canadian & international transportation sources - covers journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, books & environmental impact statements - covers all modes & disciplines of transportation: Aviation, Highway, Marine Transportation, Motor Carriers, Pedestrians & Bicyclists, Pipelines, transit, Public Transportation, Railroads -- more than 156,000 records contain links to full-text documents. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites. | |
Geography - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| annual register : a record of world events | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1758-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents. | |
| Annual reviews | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1932-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| EHPS : European history primary sources | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 500-present available online: |
|
| Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Gale primary sources | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-2012 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Open Knowledge Repository | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1978-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| World Digital Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 8000 B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - Internet-based, easily-accessible collection of cultural treasures from countries & cultures around the world - Includes digitized primary materials: manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, sound recordings, films, prints, photographs, etc. - Navigation tools & content descriptions available in 7 languages; more languages represented by the digital artefacts. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |