Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

History, Ancient - Try These First

année philologique
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1924-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 836,000 records describing academic journal articles & books/chapters + 502,000 book reviews on Classical topics: Greek & Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science from the second millennium BCE to 800 CE + early Christian texts, patristics; numismatics, papyrology, epigraphy .
Anthropology plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Late 1800s-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers journal articles; reports; commentaries; edited works; obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies - 885,000+ articles from 2,5000 journals indexed.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

History, Ancient - More Specifically

AATA online : abstracts of international conservation literature
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1880-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 138,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, books / chapters & technical reports - covers conservation, preservation & management of material cultural heritage: architectural heritage, archaeological sites, works of art, cultural objects & materials, production techniques & history of technology - browse using subject terms from the Getty Conservation Institute thesaurus; browse comprehensive subject-specific bibliographies produced for GCI’s conservation & scientific research projects.
ADS Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1695-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 200,000+ references describing journal articles, books & grey literature on archaeology & historic environment of Britain & Ireland - includes full-text from the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports & the ADS archives - also covers general literature on archaeology, monument conservation, heritage management, public & political aspects of archaeology & the sciences applied to archaeology.
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) historical monographs collection. Series 1
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1200-1893 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 15,000 digitized books covering religious doctrinal, social & organizational change - Covers prayer, history of prayer & explication of prayers - recovery of biblical languages + titles in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew & Syriac - devotional material, spiritualism & the pursuit of holiness & sanctification - biographies of great leaders of the Church from its early days (Augustine) to the time of the Reformation (Luther, Calvin, Wesley) - early, middle & recent history of Christianity - Christian life & ethics, pastoral theology & devotional literature - writings of major scholars in Christian history - early writings on eastern religions.
Ancient and medieval history online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-1500 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers eight civilizations: ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece & Rome; ancient and medieval Africa; medieval Europe; the Americas; ancient and medieval Asia - Coverage spans prehistory through the 1500s, includes: biographies; primary sources; images; maps and charts; timelines.
Art index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1929-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers articles, book reviews, exhibit reviews, reproductions of works of art from over 600 academic & popular journals - Covers decorative, fine & commercial art, art history & criticism, archaeology, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, costume design, television & motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, digital art, video art, industrial design, architecture & architectural history, etc.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
ARTstor
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Images - 1,000,000+ digital images with associated data - Covers painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, humanities, & sciences - Includes software tools for teaching and research.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1949-present, with selected citations back to 1818 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all fields of religion and theology worldwide - Includes 575,000+ citations for journal articles + records for 239,000+ essays from multi-author works, 530,000+ book reviews & a growing number of multimedia sources.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writing concerning the British Isles, the British Empire & Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 B.C.E. onwards - Bibliographical data + detailed subject classification for 500,000+ articles in academic & popular journals and books.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Daily life through history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines.
Dialnet
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
eHRAF archaeology
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Variable Coverage - Includes information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies - Full Text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Gnomon online : the Eichstätt information system for classical studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Full Text - Supplement to Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank on CD - Covers approximately 15% of the CD, including the complete set of entries from 1997 onwards.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Contains the copyright-free digitized collections of thirteen major US Universities - Digitized books by Google also included.
Historische Bibliographie online : historische Bibliographie und Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers literature in the field of history with strength in German publications -- journal articles, monographs & anthologies -- supplemented by the Jahrbuch detailing emergent, not yet published, research -- search interface / results in German
Index to Jewish periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish history, activity and thought - intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
Italinemo : riviste di italianistica nel mondo
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 30,000+ records describing articles from 130 Italian & international periodicals that focus on Italian literary & cultural studies - find articles using the Ricerca Articoli search interface; find reviews using the Ricerca Recensioni interface - search all journals or individual titles from the Titolo rivista drop-down list ; use Italian keywords or select subjects from the Descrittori Lista.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
Library of Latin texts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Click "Enter databases" button at right; then select database (either series A or series B).
Index, full-text - comprises texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council - covers all works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - presents complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, Thomas a Kempis and more.
Nestor : bibliography of Aegean prehistory and related areas
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1959-present available online:
Index - searchable international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics & related fields - prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period - comprises 41,000+ bibliographic entries & 11,000+ reviews - some full-text links are provided.
New Testament abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers the New Testament & its historical milieu - comprises records describing 50,000+ journal articles - 19,000 books / chapters - 1,600 reviews & 60 software programs - the Scriptures authority file guarantees that searches using a scriptural citation will generate appropriate results
Old Testament abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index. abstracts - Over 450 journals - Covers journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies - Topics include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology, and more.
RAMBI : the index of articles on Jewish studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
Index - includes 350,000 records describing articles on Jewish studies and the study of Eretz Israel & the State of Israel - articles selected for RAMBI must be based on scientific research or contain important information for research - includes material in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - full-text links when available.
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Tables of contents of journals of interest to classicists : TOCS-IN
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1992-present available online:
Index -- searchable tables of contents from 200 journals in classics & classical studies: archaeology, Greek, Roman & ancient Near East history, Greek & Latin linguistics & literature, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics & palaeography - covers 100,000 articles; fifteen percent of TOCS-IN entries link to the full-text of the articles.

History, Ancient - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Credo reference
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Over 3 million articles from more than 700 reference titles - Covers a broad range of subjects - Edited topic pages available for 10,000 subjects.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
European Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Catalogue - online portal providing access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe + leading European Research Libraries - cross-search & reuse over 28+ million digital items and 175+ million bibliographic records describing books, magazines, journals, manuscripts, etc. [both digital & non-digital]
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
IsisCB explore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1974-2014 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Reference universe
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers specialized content in subject encyclopedias and other reference books/ebooks - Searches article titles and index terms in 47,000+ subject specialized reference works - then links to the online holdings or to the work's record in the library catalogue.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
World Digital Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 8000 B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - Internet-based, easily-accessible collection of cultural treasures from countries & cultures around the world - Includes digitized primary materials: manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, sound recordings, films, prints, photographs, etc. - Navigation tools & content descriptions available in 7 languages; more languages represented by the digital artefacts.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.