Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

History, Canada - Try These First

America : history and life
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1910-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers history & culture of the United States & Canada, prehistory to the present - citations describe articles from 1,700+ academic & popular journals + books, theses, conference papers, book / media reviews. ("Historical Abstracts" covers history of other countries).
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Canadian newspaper archives : (1753-2020)
Internet access restricted to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1753-2020 covered:
Contains 9,439,625 Canada historical newspapers. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, date, place, and title.
Canadiana
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-1920 available online:
Index, full-text - online collection of books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. Includes digitized microfilm of non-serial CIHM materials. Collections include: Canadian women's history, Colonial government journals, Early official publications, English Canadian literature, History of French Canada, Hudson's Bay, Jesuit relations, Native studies and Canadian periodicals. Complements Early Canadiana Online's holdings.
Early Canadiana online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1557-1920 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - access early Canadian published documentary material: books, magazines & primary documents from CIHM microfilm series. Government documents & official publications, explorer accounts, religious publications & pamphlets - selected topical collections: Canadian literature, women's history, native studies, history of French Canada, Hudson's Bay Company records, the Jesuit Relations, genealogy & local history, travel & exploration, etc. Complements Canadiana's holdings.
Héritage
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-1979 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - online access to popular Canadian archival microfilm collections from Library and Archives Canada - encompasses 30+ million pages of primary-source documents: records from federal departments, agencies & crown corporations + aboriginal affairs + administrative & service records of military institutions & conflicts + private papers from individuals / organizations supporting politics, labour, social justice, arts & literature, sports & recreation + detailed genealogical files, indexes & other records chronicling settlement, land ownership, family history & community life.
Indigenous studies portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Variable Coverage - Over 25,000 records - Covers electronic resources on indigenous people and studies worldwide - Includes books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, and more.
Repère
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 580,000+ records describing articles from 660+ French-language academic, news & general interest journals from Quebec & the rest of Canada, France, Belgium & Switzerland - more than 120,000 records feature links to full-text.

History, Canada - More Specifically

Alternative press index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1969-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
ArchiveGrid : open the door to history
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
User Guide
Index - over 4 million records describing archival material (mainly American, Canadian) - records describe historical documents, personal papers, family histories, photographs & other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies & archives - provides contact information for institutions.
Arctic & Antarctic regions
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers.
Canadian labour history bibliography, 1976-2009
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1976-2009 available online:
Index - Comprises 3,829 citations describing English-language articles, monographs, pamphlets, & theses that discuss Canadian labour history from 1800-1975 - Produced by Michael Lonardo at Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Canadian parliamentary historical resources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1867- available online:
Index, full-text - centralized, streamlined access to historical debates of the Senate & House of Commons, in both official languages - Senate & House of Commons Debates (commonly known as Hansard) contain the transcribed, edited & corrected record of full deliberations of both Houses of Parliament + reconstituted debates (unofficial versions of debates for the years prior to the adoption of official reporting; reconstituted debates are drawn from newspaper reports of the day) + translated debates of the Senate which began its official report in English only.
Canadiana discovery portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - search across valuable, diverse digital collections from Canadian libraries, museums & archives including Early Canadiana Online and Heritage - access a wealth of digital material including books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio & video files about Canada's heritage.
Colonial state papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1574-1757 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - two important research tools as one service: 1) access 7,000+ digitized primary source documents covering English activities in the American, Canadian & West Indian colonies during the 16th-18th centuries (Privy Council … Colonial Papers; CO 1) ; 2) Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America & the West Indies … comprising 40,000+ bibliographic records for documents from CO 1 & many other sources - document types: letters of commission, petitions, articles of peace, lists of vessels & goods, reports of exploration, complaints of disputes & more.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
DTIC online : information for the defense community
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available.
EconLit
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1886-present available online:
User Guide
EconLit includes the most sought-after economics publications including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews--all expertly indexed, classified, and linkable to full-text library holdings.
Eighteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-1799 available online:
Full-text - Over 180,000 titles - Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera - Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies.
Eighteenth century journals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: circa 1685-1815 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Articles from British, Irish, Canadian, Caribbean and Indian magazines, journals & newspapers - Covers all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political & literary life: colonial life, provincial / rural affairs, the French and American revolutions.
Empire online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 15th-20th century available online:
Full Text - Includes 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies - Coverage includes: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
Europa world plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current information available online:
User Guide
Index, data, full-text - economic, political, historical & geographic profiles with statistics for 250+ countries & global regions - includes contact information for national political, business, media & cultural agencies / officials + 1,900 international organizations - search / browse by country, region, organization, person.
Gale newsvault
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: approx. 1600-2005 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - cross-search 8 major historic newspaper archives: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, British Library Newspapers 1800-1899, Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003, Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 & Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005 - comprises 10+ million page images with newspaper articles, editorials, letters, advertisements, reviews, etc.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Indigenous Peoples of North America
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Indigenous Peoples of North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples.
Labour studies index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1976-present available online:
Index - comprises 7,000+ records describing recent publications in Canadian labour studies: books, book chapters, journal articles, reviews, commissioned reports & theses - updates Canadian Labour History Bibliography, 1976-2009.
Libris Canadiana
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates for each title from 1867-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - Includes citations to material published in several Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, Financial Post, Monetary Times of Canada, Everywoman's World, Massey's Magazine, Canadian Bookman, Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and University Magazine, Canadian Forum and The Rebel (Toronto, Ont.).
Newfoundland Public Libraries newspaper index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-1989 (SCATTERED coverage):
Index, limited full text - Covers the Evening Telegram (St. John's): 1978-1987 + 1950-1977 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Daily News (St. John's): 1978-1984 +1950-1977 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Western Star (Corner Brook): 1950-1979 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Diocesan Magazine (1889-1958) and Newfoundland Churchman (1959-1987). Links FROM ENTRIES to full text of the Daily News, 1955-1963, and the Evening Telegram, 1914-1918, ONLY ARE INCLUDED.
Nineteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
PAB : Newfoundland periodical article bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1668-present available online:
Index - Bibliography covering more than 90,000 periodical articles relating to Newfoundland and Labrador -- Maintained by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University Libraries.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The globe and mail
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1844 to 4 years ago available online:
Full Text, Images - Over 1.4 million pages from Canada's national newspaper - Coverage includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more -- breadth / depth of content make it a vital tool for Canadian studies.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Toronto star
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1894 to 2 years ago available online:
Full Text - Includes every page of every newspaper issue: -news that shaped each day + editorial & opinion articles, business pages, political cartoons, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, birth & marriage notices - Browse by date or search by keyword(s) or phrase - Retrieves PDF images of relevant pages.
Relations France-Québec depuis 1760
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1760-present available online:
Separated by the cession of Canada to Great Britain in 1763, Canadians and the French have been forced to reinvent their relationship. Over time, Quebec and France have been rediscovered by forging new political, economic, cultural, social and intellectual relations. This site aims to highlight this fascinating rediscovery. The inventory literature provides a thorough search among tens of thousands of documents relating to relations between France and Quebec since 1760. The Chronicle offers a portrait of relations between France and Quebec, notably through a chronology of key events associated with them.
Trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War

Coverage:
The trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War are a unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman's experience of the war. These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such they contain the hitherto unheard voices of hundreds of thousands of men and women writing from every facet of the conflict. They were written and illustrated by service personnel from a huge variety of units: the infantry, artillery, air force, naval, supply and transport units, military hospitals and training depots of all combatant nations including America, Britain, Germany, Canada, France, Australia and New Zealand. Although the majority of journals that have survived originate from units based on the Western Front in France and Belgium, there are also magazines from units serving on the Eastern Front, in Gallipoli, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain and America. Commonly referred to
U.K. parliamentary papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1688-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full text - rich, detailed primary source for Britain, its colonies & the wider world over the past three centuries - complete House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (AKA Sessional Papers or Blue Books): Bills, House papers, Command papers + Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees + Hansard, the Official Report of debates in the House of Commons & House of Lords, 1803 to 2005.

History, Canada - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Ancestry
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-present available online:
User Guide
Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.