Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

History, Great Britain and Ireland - Try These First

Bibliography of British and Irish history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writing concerning the British Isles, the British Empire & Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 B.C.E. onwards - Bibliographical data + detailed subject classification for 500,000+ articles in academic & popular journals and books.
C19 : the nineteenth century index

Coverage:
Welcome to C19: The Nineteenth Century Index – the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ)
Gale newsvault
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: approx. 1600-2005 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - cross-search 8 major historic newspaper archives: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, British Library Newspapers 1800-1899, Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003, Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 & Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005 - comprises 10+ million page images with newspaper articles, editorials, letters, advertisements, reviews, etc.
Historical abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1955-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Abstracts - Discover significant, groundbreaking, academic works on world history (excluding North America) from 1450-present: search world, regional, country & local histories, military history, women's history, history of education, etc + historical period searching - Comprehensive coverage of articles from 2,300+ historical journals, books & dissertations - "CLIO Notes for Historical Abstracts" provide chronologies & brief summaries of significant events / themes in modern history.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
Waterloo directory of English newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1900 available online:
A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, and 2,000 subjects from English Newspapers and Periodicals,1800-1900. Series 2 consists of 50,000 titles, and series 3 adds 25,000 additional titles. Includes the URLs for about 20,000 titles available in full-text e-access.
Waterloo directory of Irish newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1900 available online:
An expansion of the Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals:1800-1900. A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 5,800 publications, 7,000 people, 800 issuing bodies, 215 publishing towns, 1250 title pages from Irish Newspapers and Periodicals from 1800-1900.

History, Great Britain and Ireland - More Specifically

17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-1799 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprehensive collection of early English news media comprising 1,194 newspapers + nearly 100 examples of corantos, news-books & other early forms gathered by the Rev. Charles Burney - comprises nearly 1 million pages of digitized primary source material, mainly from London & provincial towns throughout the British Isles + America & Asia.
19th century UK periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - content from 300+ national, regional, local, colonial & missionary, popular, women's & children's periodicals + professional & academic journals - comprises more than 2 million pages covering literature, science, agriculture, trade & industry, medicine, travel, geography & anthropology, humour, theatre, music, sport, recreation, politics, economics, education, social reform & philanthropy, religion, fine arts, architecture.
Allied propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1941-1946:
This collection presents the complete files of the PWE kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee "Breaking the German Will to Resist." Included here is all the correspondence, minutes and agents' mission files along with a complete collection of all the airborne propaganda leaflets dropped over mainland Europe during the war by the British and American air forces. These leaflets, single sheets and miniature books are often highly illustrated, sometimes satirical and sometimes intended to boost morale with speeches or addresses from exiled leaders. They were produced in all nine languages of the recipient countries.
Alternative press index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1969-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1930-1934
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1930-1934:
This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in the North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1930: London naval conference; U.S. publication of documents regarding naval disarmament; French and Italian naval programs; Japanese and Australian ratification of London Treaty; 1931: Financial and economic situation in U.S.; British financial crisis; visit of Prince of Wales to annual convention of the American Legion. 1932: British cruiser in Los Angeles during Olympic Games; Communism in the Philippine Islands; oil industry in California; visit of Lord Mayor of London to New York and Washington; U.S.-Canadian relations; 1932:
British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1935-1937
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1935-1937:
This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1935: Washington Naval Treaty; German naval building program; French proposals for direct radio telephone service between New York and Paris; Japanese note denouncing the Washington Treaty; Anglo-German Naval Agreement; London Naval Conference; flights of U.S. aircraft over British Honduras; British war debt to U.S.; Soviet attitude to U.S.; Defense of the Panama Canal Zone; Japanese activities in the Philippines. 1936: Non-aggression Pact in the Far East; Soviet views on London Naval Treaty; attitude of Japanese navy toward U.K.; U.S
British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1938-1940
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1938-1940:
This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1938: Construction of vessels for the Brazilian government; German naval construction; use by U.S. of French-owned islands in South Pacific; size of Japanese capital ships; arming merchantmen in wartime; German intentions with regard to submarine construction; reactions in New York to European situation; U.S. and isolationism; U.S. neutrality legislation and oil supplies; U.S. Naval Expansion Bill; copy of Magna Carta at New York World's Fair; visit of King to World's Fair; search for Miss Amelia Earhart; Anglo-Polish Naval Agreeme
British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1941-1943
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1941-1943:
This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1941: Appointment of Lord Halifax as Ambassador at Washington; U.S. aid for Britain: Lend-Lease Act; convoys; speech by Secretary of the Navy Knox; Cordell Hull on U.S. and world situation; Roosevelt's speech of 27 May 1941; U.S. reaction to German invasion of Soviet Union; U.S. bases: Jamaica, Australia; New Zealand; Pacific Islands and Central America; jurisdiction; Roosevelt's personal representation in London: Mr. Averell Harriman and Harry Hopkins; British publicity in the U.S.; publicity among German-American communities; arr
British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1944-1945
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1944: Wendel Willkie's nomination by Republican Convention in 1940; suggested changing of name of Lend-Lease to War Pool Account; article by Bertrand Russell: "Can Americans and Britons be Friends?"; warning to British visitors against commenting on U.S. policies; Fortune article on Colonies; visit of Negro journalists to African colonies; British interference in U.S. elections; influence of American churches on American opinion and policy; Mr. Dewey and foreign policy; Republican candidates for presidential election; background to
British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1946-1948
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1946-1948:
This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1946: Problem of half caste children of British women and U.S. coloured soldiers; problems relating to G.I. brides; Mr. Churchill's speech at Fulton, Missouri; relations between British and U.S. troops in Germany; Republican opposition to U.S. policy at United Nations meetings; opinion in U.S. on loan to Britain; U.S. elections; Communist infiltration into U.S.; establishment of single department of Defense; socialization of German industry; enquiry into Pearl Harbor disaster; labor industrial relations and manpower in U.S.; U.S. requ
British history online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1300-1800 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - digital library comprising texts relating to the medieval & modern history of the United Kingdom & Ireland - also includes materials relating to Britain’s colonial history & British diplomacy abroad - focuses on the period 1300-1800; however, texts relating to everything from Roman & Anglo-Saxon Britain to the twentieth century may be found.
British Library newspapers. Part I,1800-1900
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - full runs of 47 influential national & regional newspapers published in Victorian Britain: dailies, weeklies + penny papers - over 2.2 million pages of searchable digitized primary content covering 19th century English, Scottish & Irish life: politics, international affairs, business, sport, entertainment & the arts.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Cecil papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1520-1668 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 30,000+ manuscripts, principally the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley & his son Robert, 1st Earl of Salisbury: two men at the heart of government & events during the reigns of Elizabeth I & James I - covers English domestic politics, foreign policy, early American colonization - accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers at Hatfield House Archives including family & estate papers, petitions & contemporary hand-drawn maps + summaries or transcripts of many documents - documents from Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex (a family rival) are included.
Colonial state papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1574-1757 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - two important research tools as one service: 1) access 7,000+ digitized primary source documents covering English activities in the American, Canadian & West Indian colonies during the 16th-18th centuries (Privy Council … Colonial Papers; CO 1) ; 2) Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America & the West Indies … comprising 40,000+ bibliographic records for documents from CO 1 & many other sources - document types: letters of commission, petitions, articles of peace, lists of vessels & goods, reports of exploration, complaints of disputes & more.
Connected histories : British history sources, 1500-1900
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1500-1900 available online:
"Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace."--Home page.
Defining gender
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1450-1910 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - history, literature, sociology & education from a gendered perspective: conduct & politeness, domesticity & the family, consumption & leisure, education & sensibility, and the body, including illustrated writings on anatomy & midwifery - includes 50,000+ primary documents from British archives + biographies, essays, an interactive chronology & popular searches.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Digital scholar lab
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Digital Scholar Lab is an online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the subscribing institution's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more.
DTIC online : information for the defense community
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available.
Dublin Castle records 1798-1926
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1798-1926:
The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle. Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921. This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
EconLit
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1886-present available online:
User Guide
EconLit includes the most sought-after economics publications including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews--all expertly indexed, classified, and linkable to full-text library holdings.
EHD : English historical document online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 500-1914 available online:
User Guide
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.
Eighteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-1799 available online:
Full-text - Over 180,000 titles - Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera - Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies.
Eighteenth century journals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: circa 1685-1815 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Articles from British, Irish, Canadian, Caribbean and Indian magazines, journals & newspapers - Covers all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political & literary life: colonial life, provincial / rural affairs, the French and American revolutions.
Empire online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 15th-20th century available online:
Full Text - Includes 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies - Coverage includes: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
English short title catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1473-1800 available online:
Catalogue - lists over 480,000 monographic & serial letter-press items printed in Britain, North America or territories governed by Britain in any language + English / British vernacular language materials printed in other parts of the world - covers books, pamphlets & other ephemeral materials + newspapers & other serials which began publication before 1801 - union catalogue for pre-1801 materials located in the collections of the British Library & 2000+ other libraries.
Europa world plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current information available online:
User Guide
Index, data, full-text - economic, political, historical & geographic profiles with statistics for 250+ countries & global regions - includes contact information for national political, business, media & cultural agencies / officials + 1,900 international organizations - search / browse by country, region, organization, person.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
Industrial mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-1918:
The history of the Ministry of Munitions is one of the most extraordinary and instructive episodes in modern British history. Within less than three years, David Lloyd George and his successors transformed the face of British industry and created the largest government department the country had ever seen. As many as 1,600,000 men and 800,000 women were employed on protected munitions work on behalf of the Ministry. Control was exercised over the iron, steel, chemical, and engineering industries. Over 15,000 firms were engaged on munitions work. A third of them were 'controlled establishments', giving precedence to government contracts and employing labor on conditions prescribed by the Ministry. More than 200 factories were either nationalized or specially built for munitions work.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
Irish history online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1700s-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writings about Ireland during all periods from prehistoric times to the present - 70,000+ bibliographic records for monographs, journal articles, chapters in edited books, conference proceedings and essay collections.
Irish newspaper archives
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700s-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full text - Keyword searchable online archive of Irish national, regional & specialty newspapers - over 6 million pages from over 500,000 issues of Irish Newspaper publications.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
John Johnson collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1500s-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Comprises more than 60,000 records describing print ephemera: 20,700 pieces of theatrical & non-theatrical ephemera from the Nineteenth-Century Entertainment category, 11,700+ items from the Book-trade category, 11,200+ Popular Prints, 22,400+ items from Advertising and over 1,500 from Crimes, Murders and Executions offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th - early 20th centuries.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Library of Latin texts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Click "Enter databases" button at right; then select database (either series A or series B).
Index, full-text - comprises texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council - covers all works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - presents complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, Thomas a Kempis and more.
London lives 1690-1800 : crime, poverty and social policy in the Metropolis
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1680-1820 available online:
Index, Full-text - Covers a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners -- 240,000 manuscripts from 8 archives & 15 datasets, giving access to 3.35 million names.
Military database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1916-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers military & government matters: international relations, foreign policy, political science, armed forces & defense, national security, war, aeronautics & space flight, navigation, communications, civil engineering & more - comprises records describing 3 million articles from 725+ trade / scholarly journals & magazines [most full-text] + 12.3 million stories from newspapers & newswires + 1 million technical reports, etc.
Nineteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
Northern Ireland, a divided community, 1921-1972 : cabinet papers of the Stormont administration
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1921-1972:
The history of Ireland in the twentieth century was dominated by the political and sectarian divide between the north and the south, leading to sustaining armed violence over several decades. These Government documents of the British administration in Northern Ireland 1921-72 (CAB/4) offer what have been described as the best continuous record of government activity and decision-making in the world, and shows "how government actually worked". The papers contained in Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 are a complete digital facsimile of the Cabinet Conclusion files of the Northern Ireland Government, filed as CAB/4 at the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI). These CAB/4 files contain a full record of every debate and transaction for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda. The discussions and decisions reflect the wide range
papers of Joseph Chamberlain
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1836-1914:
"Winston Churchill once wrote that Joseph Chamberlain "made the weather" in British politics. Through his radical ideals he split both the main British parties, the Liberals by opposing Home Rule for Ireland, and the Conservatives over tariff reform. The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain highlight his political career as Mayor of Birmingham to Secretary of State for the Colonies and the fight over tariff reforms with which he ended his career. This collection demonstrates the rapid change in politics, particularly the constant change in allegiances between politicians and Chamberlain's own development as a politician. Newspaper clippings of his early speeches, the only record still existing of them, can also be found in this collection, recording his political career from start to finish. Joseph Chamberlain established a model that politicians and pundits still use to classify and judge the performance of Britain's political leaders. He commonly heads the list for most outstanding states ma
papers of Neville Chamberlain
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1869-1940:
Neville Chamberlain (1869-1940) remains the best-known of the Chamberlain family due to his controversial policy of "appeasement" towards Hitler. The Papers of Neville Chamberlain contain political papers documenting his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, but also highlight his personal correspondence with his family. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, his concerns at the development of the Second World War, as well as letters covering his life together with his wife Annie and his sisters, particularly Hilda and Ida. The correspondence of his wife with his biographer and the handling of his estates following his death can be found in this collection as well.
papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1863-1937:
Sir Austen Chamberlain (1863-1937) was the ablest Foreign Secretary of the interwar period, earning the Nobel Peace Prize for the signing of the Locarno Treaties in 1925. As a career politician, he held a variety of government offices, and The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain contains political papers that variously document his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer, Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and Leader of the House of Commons. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, the development of foreign affairs for both the First and Second World Wars, and his role in the wartime coalition government. The papers also include personal correspondence with his family, including his sister and wife, and highlight his close friendship with his stepmother, Mary Endicott.
ProQuest ebook central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Irish times and the Weekly Irish times
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1859 to 2 years ago available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - explore 150 years of Ireland's turbulent history, rich culture, & complex political climate - comprehensive news reporting, along with sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, & more from The Irish Times & its related periodicals.
Scottish bibliographies online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 60,000+ records describing books, periodicals & major articles of Scottish interest published all over the world - access merged records from the Bibliography of Scotland, the Bibliography of Scottish Gaelic & the Bibliography of the Scottish book trade.
Sources : a National Library of Ireland database for Irish research
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-1989 available online:
Index - contains over 180,000 catalogue records for Irish manuscripts and for articles in Irish periodicals. Article records give details of the author, the title, and the citation + information about how to access the periodicals. Manuscript records provide key details about the manuscript including the title, in addition to where it is held and its manuscript number. All records have subject headings.
U.K. parliamentary papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1688-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full text - rich, detailed primary source for Britain, its colonies & the wider world over the past three centuries - complete House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (AKA Sessional Papers or Blue Books): Bills, House papers, Command papers + Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees + Hansard, the Official Report of debates in the House of Commons & House of Lords, 1803 to 2005.
Victorian popular culture
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s-1930s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - resource for the study of popular entertainment in the 19th & early 20th centuries - English full-text documents published during this "long" 19th century: Spiritualism, mesmerism, psychical science & secular magic; Music hall, theatre & popular entertainment; Circuses, sideshows & freaks together define the cultural fields presented in this collection.
Victorian web
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Web site - resource for Victorian studies including topical links to political & social history, religion, science, visual arts, popular entertainment & Victorian authors - links 80,000+ full-text 19th century documents, as well as to current periodicals, book reviews, related WWW links & a bibliography.

History, Great Britain and Ireland - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
ADS Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1695-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 200,000+ references describing journal articles, books & grey literature on archaeology & historic environment of Britain & Ireland - includes full-text from the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports & the ADS archives - also covers general literature on archaeology, monument conservation, heritage management, public & political aspects of archaeology & the sciences applied to archaeology.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Ancestry
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-present available online:
User Guide
Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.