Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
History, United States - Try These First |
|
| 19th century U.S. newspapers | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-1899 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 500+ newspapers from a range of urban & rural regions throughout the U.S. - comprises 1.8 million digital facsimile images of full pages, clipped articles, advertisements & illustrations - encompasses the entire 19th century: the Civil War & Confederacy, Native American & African-American culture & history, women's rights, Western migration, labor & Antebellum-era life, among other subjects + essays by journalism historians to provide context & clarity to the collection. | |
| America : history and life | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers history & culture of the United States & Canada, prehistory to the present - citations describe articles from 1,700+ academic & popular journals + books, theses, conference papers, book / media reviews. ("Historical Abstracts" covers history of other countries). | |
| America's historical imprints | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1639-1819 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past from: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| United States Documents Masterfile : 1774- | |
|
Coverage: |
|
| A comprehensive electronic guide to federal, state, local and international public documents, spanning over 200 years of publication, in a single searchable database. Contains two types of records, full bibliographic records and brief records comprised of index terms or pointers to public documents cumulations or catalogs. | |
| US newsstream | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. | |
History, United States - More Specifically |
|
| ABC CLIO eBook collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1991-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health. | |
| Academic search complete | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Albania : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1963: |
|
| Albania established a Communist regime and a one-party system under Yugoslav and Soviet guidance. The People’s Republic of Albania, declared in January 1946, was led by Enver Hoxha (1908-1985), Stalin’s disciple, who served as party general secretary, prime minister, and commander in chief. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. | |
| Alternative press index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. | |
| annual register : a record of world events | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1758-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents. | |
| ArchiveGrid : open the door to history | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - over 4 million records describing archival material (mainly American, Canadian) - records describe historical documents, personal papers, family histories, photographs & other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies & archives - provides contact information for institutions. | |
| Arctic & Antarctic regions | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles. | |
| Arts & humanities database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals. | |
| Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers. | |
| British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1930-1934 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1930-1934: |
|
| This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in the North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1930: London naval conference; U.S. publication of documents regarding naval disarmament; French and Italian naval programs; Japanese and Australian ratification of London Treaty; 1931: Financial and economic situation in U.S.; British financial crisis; visit of Prince of Wales to annual convention of the American Legion. 1932: British cruiser in Los Angeles during Olympic Games; Communism in the Philippine Islands; oil industry in California; visit of Lord Mayor of London to New York and Washington; U.S.-Canadian relations; 1932: | |
| British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1935-1937 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1935-1937: |
|
| This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1935: Washington Naval Treaty; German naval building program; French proposals for direct radio telephone service between New York and Paris; Japanese note denouncing the Washington Treaty; Anglo-German Naval Agreement; London Naval Conference; flights of U.S. aircraft over British Honduras; British war debt to U.S.; Soviet attitude to U.S.; Defense of the Panama Canal Zone; Japanese activities in the Philippines. 1936: Non-aggression Pact in the Far East; Soviet views on London Naval Treaty; attitude of Japanese navy toward U.K.; U.S | |
| British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1938-1940 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1938-1940: |
|
| This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1938: Construction of vessels for the Brazilian government; German naval construction; use by U.S. of French-owned islands in South Pacific; size of Japanese capital ships; arming merchantmen in wartime; German intentions with regard to submarine construction; reactions in New York to European situation; U.S. and isolationism; U.S. neutrality legislation and oil supplies; U.S. Naval Expansion Bill; copy of Magna Carta at New York World's Fair; visit of King to World's Fair; search for Miss Amelia Earhart; Anglo-Polish Naval Agreeme | |
| British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1941-1943 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1941-1943: |
|
| This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1941: Appointment of Lord Halifax as Ambassador at Washington; U.S. aid for Britain: Lend-Lease Act; convoys; speech by Secretary of the Navy Knox; Cordell Hull on U.S. and world situation; Roosevelt's speech of 27 May 1941; U.S. reaction to German invasion of Soviet Union; U.S. bases: Jamaica, Australia; New Zealand; Pacific Islands and Central America; jurisdiction; Roosevelt's personal representation in London: Mr. Averell Harriman and Harry Hopkins; British publicity in the U.S.; publicity among German-American communities; arr | |
| British Foreign Office : United States correspondence, 1946-1948 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1946-1948: |
|
| This collection in The National Archives at Kew covers British foreign affairs concerning the United States. The General Political Correspondence for the United States of America, in F.O. 371, consists primarily of communications between the Foreign Office and various British embassies and consulates in North America. Governmental, political, military, economic, and cultural topics concerning Anglo-American relations are chronicled. The documents include: 1946: Problem of half caste children of British women and U.S. coloured soldiers; problems relating to G.I. brides; Mr. Churchill's speech at Fulton, Missouri; relations between British and U.S. troops in Germany; Republican opposition to U.S. policy at United Nations meetings; opinion in U.S. on loan to Britain; U.S. elections; Communist infiltration into U.S.; establishment of single department of Defense; socialization of German industry; enquiry into Pearl Harbor disaster; labor industrial relations and manpower in U.S.; U.S. requ | |
| Bulgaria : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1945-1949 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1949: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Bulgaria. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal File 874, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Bulgaria, for the years 1945-1949. | |
| Bulgaria : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1950-1954 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-1954: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Bulgaria. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 769, 869, 969, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Bulgaria, for the years 1950-1954. | |
| C19 : the nineteenth century index | |
Coverage: |
|
| Welcome to C19: The Nineteenth Century Index – the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ) | |
| Carter administration and foreign affairs | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1972-1981: |
|
| This archive treats U.S. foreign affairs during the presidency of Jimmy Carter. Notable subjects include the Arab-Israeli Conflict; the Camp David Accords; China; Panama Canal treaties; Strategic Arms Limitations Talks (SALT); the Soviet intervention in Afghanistan and U.S. responses to the intervention; the Iran Hostage Crisis; human rights; among other topics. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| Cecil papers | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1520-1668 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - comprises 30,000+ manuscripts, principally the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley & his son Robert, 1st Earl of Salisbury: two men at the heart of government & events during the reigns of Elizabeth I & James I - covers English domestic politics, foreign policy, early American colonization - accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers at Hatfield House Archives including family & estate papers, petitions & contemporary hand-drawn maps + summaries or transcripts of many documents - documents from Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex (a family rival) are included. | |
| Chronicling America : historic American newspapers | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1836-1922 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - search and read newspaper pages from 1836-1922 -- digitized newspaper pages represent a state's regional history, geographic coverage & events of the particular time being covered - includes "Newspaper Title Directory" comprising 140,000 newspaper titles with library holdings, 1690 to present. | |
| Cold War : voices of confrontation and conciliation | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-2002: |
|
| At the end of World War II, English author and journalist George Orwell used the term cold war in his essay "You and the Atomic Bomb", published October 19, 1945, in the British newspaper Tribune. Contemplating a world living in the shadow of the threat of nuclear warfare, he warned of a "peace that is no peace", which he called a permanent "cold war", Orwell directly referred to that war as the ideological confrontation between the Soviet Union and the Western powers. The first use of the term to describe the post-World War II geopolitical tensions between the USSR and its satellites and the United States and its western European allies is attributed to Bernard Baruch. In a speech delivered on April 16, 1947, he stated, "Let us not be deceived: we are today in the midst of a cold war." This collection will provide a unique opportunity to read the recollections of many of the players in the Cold War. These transcripts of oral recollections will assist scholars in understanding the moti | |
| Colonial state papers | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1574-1757 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - two important research tools as one service: 1) access 7,000+ digitized primary source documents covering English activities in the American, Canadian & West Indian colonies during the 16th-18th centuries (Privy Council ... Colonial Papers; CO 1) ; 2) Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America & the West Indies ... comprising 40,000+ bibliographic records for documents from CO 1 & many other sources - document types: letters of commission, petitions, articles of peace, lists of vessels & goods, reports of exploration, complaints of disputes & more. | |
| Czechoslovakia from liberation to Communist state, 1945-63 : records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1963: |
|
| This collection documents the creation of the Third Republic, which was established after World War II, and differed markedly from the First Republic of 1918. The Third Republic was created as a result of a compromise between pre-war Czechoslovak Republic leaders and the Czech Communist Party (KSC). The Republic's hopes were subverted by the KSC, which at the time had considerable popular support and the backing of the Soviet Union. | |
| Daily life through history | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines. | |
| Development of environmental health policy : Pope A. Lawrence papers 1924-1983 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1924-1983: |
|
| The collection documents the varied research and policymaking career of Pope A. Lawrence, an environmental health specialist with the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare and the Public Health Service. His papers contain a wealth of primary source research materials and scientific data related to: environmental and industrial hygiene; radon activity; use of beryllium as a rocket propellant; uranium mining; and toxicological, biological and chemical weapon systems. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| Digital National Security Archive | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1942-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text -- Covers critical post World War II international events, countries & U.S. foreign policy decisions -- Comprises 80,000+ declassified primary documents organized in 36 subject collections -- Includes glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, & photographs. | |
| Digital scholar lab | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Digital Scholar Lab is an online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the subscribing institution's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more. | |
| Directory of history dissertations | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1873-present available online: |
|
| Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles | |
| DTIC online : information for the defense community | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available. | |
| EconLit with Full Text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1886-present available online: |
User Guide |
| EconLit includes the most sought-after economics publications including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews--all expertly indexed, classified, and linkable to full-text library holdings. | |
| Eight centuries | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| "Eight Centuries is a vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1930. Through enhancement and implementation of dozens of historically significant scholarly indexes, it offers multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences."--About the content. | |
| Eighteenth century collections online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-1799 available online: |
|
| Full-text - Over 180,000 titles - Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera - Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies. | |
| Eighteenth century journals | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: circa 1685-1835 available online: |
|
| Index, Full Text - Articles from British, Irish, Canadian, Caribbean and Indian magazines, journals & newspapers - Covers all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political & literary life: colonial life, provincial / rural affairs, the French and American revolutions. | |
| Electing the President : proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1832-1988: |
|
| This collection includes the proceedings of the 1832-1988 Democratic National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts. | |
| Electing the President : proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| The collection includes the proceedings for 1856-1988 of the Republican National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage of the conventions, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts. | |
| Election of 1948 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1948: |
|
| This collection provides documents and the perspectives of the four base camps from the 1948 United States presidential election: Democrat incumbent President and eventual victor Harry S. Truman (1884-1972; U.S. President, 1945-1953), Republican and New York Governor Thomas E. Dewey (1902-1971), Progressive and former Vice President Henry A. Wallace (1888-1965) and Dixiecrat and South Carolina Governor J. Strom Thurmond (1902-2003). Sources include Papers of Harry S Truman, Thomas E. Dewey Papers, Papers of Americans for Democratic Action as well as selections from several southern newspapers. | |
| FBI file : Alger Hiss/Whittaker Chambers | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1937-1977: |
|
| No single episode did more to set off alarms of a diabolic "Red" conspiracy within the national government than the case of Alger Hiss. In the midst of the 1948 presidential campaign, the House Un-American Activities Committee conducted a hearing in which Whittaker Chambers, a senior editor at Time magazine and former Soviet agent who had broken with the communists in 1938, identified Hiss, who had worked as an aide to the assistant secretary of state, as an underground party member in the 1930s. This file traces that machinations of the many figures involved in one of the era's most famous witch hunts. Trails of evidence are followed through correspondence between alleged Communist Party members and sympathizers, as well as interviews with associates of the accused. The archive is an invaluable resource on the Second Red Scare and the internal politics of the United States during the early years of the Cold War. | |
| FBI file : assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1959-1977: |
|
| The assassination on April 4, 1968, of Martin Luther King, Jr., president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, triggered a massive manhunt culminating in the arrest of James Earl Ray. The 44,000-page case file of the Federal Bureau of Investigation documents the bureau's role in finding Ray and obtaining his conviction. The file also includes background information amassed by the FBI on Dr. King's social activism. This archive is of particular interest to students of the civil rights movement and of the continuing controversy surrounding Dr. King's murder. | |
| FBI file : House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC) | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1938-1974: |
|
| The Federal Bureau of Investigation and the House Committee on Un-American Activities (later called the House Un-American Activities Committee, or HUAC) developed a working relationship in the period 1938 through 1975 that increased the authority of the committee and gave the bureau power to investigate suspected communists. The archive is divided into three parts. The first part, 1938-1945, documents clashes between HUAC chairman Martin Dies and the administrations of Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry Truman. The second section, 1946-1949, records the process by which the FBI and HUAC chose their targets. The final section follows HUAC, renamed the Internal Security Committee, in its attempt to protect the FBI from other congressional investigative committees. | |
| FBI file : Watergate | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1972-1975: |
|
| The Watergate scandal grew out of the scheme to conceal the connection between the White House and the accused Watergate burglars, who had succeeded in a plan to wiretap telephones at the Democratic National Committee headquarters in the Watergate apartment complex in Washington, D.C. Early in the morning of June 17, 1972, a security guard foiled the break-in to install the bugs. After the election a federal judge refused to accept the claim of those on trial for the break-in that they had acted on their own. In February 1973 the U.S. Senate established the Special Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities to investigate alleged election misdeeds. This archive is a valuable resource for students of the Watergate scandal and modern American political history. Included here are all of the reports and evidence acquired by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, as well as data that was gathered in the campaign activities of the 1972 presidential candidates. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1945-1949 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1949: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal File 860d, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1945-1949. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1950-1954 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-1954: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1950-1954. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1955-1959 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1955-1959: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1955-1963. | |
| Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1960-Jan. 1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-Jan. 1963: |
|
| The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1955-1963. | |
| Ford administration and foreign affairs | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1974-1977: |
|
| This collection offers online access to the microfilm series, "Gerald R. Ford and Foreign Affairs." Included here are Presidential Country Files for East Asia and the Pacific and Presidential Correspondence and Conversations with Foreign Leaders. Many significant foreign policy events are covered here. Among these are the wars and their aftermath in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos; seizure of the Mayaguez and subsequent investigations into the administration's handling of the incident; and the normalization process with the People's Republic of China. Other major topics are U.S. military bases and the presence of American troops, especially in Thailand, Philippines, Diego Garcia, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Korea. General topics covered include trade, arms transfers, mutual defense agreements, and meetings between American and foreign leaders. Materials relating to Southeast Asia concern intelligence reports on the situation in Vietnam and Cambodia, the administration's request of Congr | |
| Gale newsvault | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: approx. 1600-2005 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - cross-search 8 major historic newspaper archives: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, British Library Newspapers 1800-1899, Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003, Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 & Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005 - comprises 10+ million page images with newspaper articles, editorials, letters, advertisements, reviews, etc. | |
| George H. W. Bush and foreign affairs : Bosnia and the situation in the former Yugoslavia | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1988-1999: |
|
| The war in Bosnia and Herzegovina came about as a result of the breakup of Yugoslavia. In Yugoslavia the national Communist party, officially called Alliance or League of Communists of Yugoslavia, was losing its ideological potency, while nationalist and separatist ideologies were on the rise in the late 1980s. Crisis erupted with the weakening of the Communist system at the end of the Cold War. This was particularly noticeable in Serbia, Croatia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and to a lesser extent in Slovenia and Republic of Macedonia. Throughout 1991 international and national political maneuvering failed to prevent Bosnia from slipping into civil war. This collection consists of comprehensive materials related to the former Yugoslavia, particularly Bosnia, and U.S. presidential decision-making. Documents constitute the complete FOIA request listed as 1998-0102-FL: Records on Bosnia and the Former Yugoslavia. | |
| George H. W. Bush and foreign affairs : fall of the Berlin Wall and the reunification of Germany | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-1993: |
|
| This collection provides an in-depth analysis of the events leading up to the fall of the Berlin Wall and its implications for U.S.-German relations. Documents include 1999-0393-F: Records of Memcons and Telcons between President Bush and Helmut Kohl concerning the Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany; and FOIA 2001-1166-F: Records on the Fall of the Berlin Wall and German Unification. | |
| Greece : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-1963: |
|
| This archive focuses on Greece in the Cold War era in the aftermath of the Greek Civil War, which took a heavy toll, in the late 1940s. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. | |
| HathiTrust digital library | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only Coverage: |
|
| HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions into one digital library. Full-text of works that are out of copyright or in the public domain are available for viewing or searching. Log in by selecting Memorial University of Newfoundland to access the largest number of volumes and features. Guest users without a MUN Login ID can view out-of-copyright items with some restrictions. | |
| Humanities & social sciences index retrospective | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-1984 available online: |
|
| Index - Academic & popular journals covering all humanities & social sciences research areas - Covers 1,300,000 articles from nearly 1,200 English-language | |
| Humanities source ultimate | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-present available online: |
|
| Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research. | |
| Indigenous Peoples of North America | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Indigenous Peoples of North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples. | |
| JFK's foreign affairs and international crises, 1961-1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1958-1964: |
|
| "Originally microfilmed as JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, this collection provides insights into President Kennedy's views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are more than just documents on the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba. There are documents that highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race." | |
| Johnson administration and foreign affairs | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1963-1969: |
|
| This collection offers online access to the microfilm series, "Lyndon B. Johnson and Foreign Affairs, 1963-1969." Included here are White House Central Files which consist of the Foreign Affairs Subject Files and the National Defense Subject File on the Vietnam War. The collection enumerates policies, responses, and recommendations from the president's advisers and cabinet members on handling the growing conflict in South Vietnam, its effects on domestic policies, and the public's reaction to the war. The files document the Johnson administration's escalation of the war from a commitment of sixteen thousand advisers in November 1963 to that of over five hundred thousand combat troops at the end of 1968. The archive details controversial issues such as the Gulf of Tonkin incident, the initiation of regular bombing attacks on North Vietnam, the decision to commit large numbers of combat troops to South Vietnam, and efforts to maintain public support for the war. In addition, this collect | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Military database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1916-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers military & government matters: international relations, foreign policy, political science, armed forces & defense, national security, war, aeronautics & space flight, navigation, communications, civil engineering & more - comprises records describing 3 million articles from 725+ trade / scholarly journals & magazines [most full-text] + 12.3 million stories from newspapers & newswires + 1 million technical reports, etc. | |
| minority voter, election of 1936 and the Good Neighbor League | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1936: |
|
| This collection is designed as a case study of minority involvement in a presidential election campaign, using the 1936 Democratic Campaign as a model. The 1936 election provides an excellent example partly because of the availability of manuscript material on the Good Neighbor League, a vital force in helping make minorities part of the Roosevelt coalition in 1936. Through recruitment and publicity, the League were one means Democrats used to attract minority voters to Roosevelt. Their activities show that bringing together such a coalition was not a chance occurrence, but a well-planned political move whose basic premise was the New Deal legislative program. Minorities proved by their participation that they would be a significant influence in elections to come. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Nineteenth century collections online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800s available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. | |
| Nixon administration and foreign affairs | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-1974: |
|
| This collection offers online access to the microfilm series, "The Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs, 1969-1974." Included here are the White House Central Files consisting of the Foreign Affairs Subject Files and the Foreign Affairs Subject Series. The National Security Council Files include China and Vietnam Negotiations and the President's Trip Files. The archive details the worldview of foreign policy during President Nixon's administration and chronicles the realism that both the president and his policy advisers used in mentally ordering the world and in formulating policy. It highlights the diplomacy that the administration employed to achieve "Vietnamization," détente with the Soviet Union, and other objectives. Realism, triangular diplomacy, and linkage-making provided President Nixon with an understanding of world strategy and a negotiating approach that fueled his pursuit of détente and accommodation. The files include a sizable subseries of memoranda of conversation | |
| Occupation and independence : the Austrian Second Republic, 1945-1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1963: |
|
| The experience of the Anschluss and Nazi rule deepened the commitment of Austrians to parliamentary democracy and Austrian statehood. The electorate remained divided into three political camps--socialist/Marxist, Catholic, and nationalist/liberal--but cooperation replaced extreme political polarization. Through Allied occupation, slow economic growth, dependency on Marshall Plan, the Second Republic became a stable democracy. The major political parties strove towards ending Allied occupation and restoring a fully independent Austria. Upon the termination of Allied occupation, Austria was proclaimed a neutral country, and "everlasting" neutrality was incorporated into the Constitution on October 26, 1955. Collection contents are drawn from the "Central classified files" of the U.S. Dept. of State. | |
| PAIS index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers international policy oriented literature: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science & technology - Comprises 625,800 records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more. | |
| Papers of the Nixon administration : the President's confidential and subject special files, 1969-1974 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-1974: |
|
| This publication consists of documents of an administratively-sensitive nature, arranged according to subject from President Nixon's Special Files collection, comprising the Confidential and Subject Files. These documents provide an in-depth look into the activities of the President, his closest advisors, and the administration. These records support the behind-the-scenes historical inquiry into an administration that may well be the most significant one since World War II and one of the most important in the 20th century. | |
| Poland : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1963: |
|
| After the Second World War Stalin's highest priority in Eastern Europe was the takeover of Poland. The rigged elections in January 1947 followed by the merger of the Communist and Socialist parties in December 1948 assured the complete Communist takeover of the country. The new regime exercised near total control over society and established a command economy. Hence, for example, documents on internal security force activities in 1949 note "intensified attacks by Anglo-American imperialism." The documents here are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. | |
| Political extremism and radicalism. Part 3.Global communist and socialist movements | |
Coverage: |
|
| This archive provides access to primary sources created by a variety of communist, socialist, and Far-Left groups, and figures across the world's capitalist nations, as well as materials generated by anti-communist organizations and individuals. Coverage is primarily early twentieth century and concerns the "birth" or "evolution" of early communism and socialism, and ideologies such as Marxism-Leninism, Maoism, and Trotskyism. The resource provides insight into how communist and socialist groups saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century, such as the Russian Revolution, the rise of the Soviet Union, and the Red Scare. | |
| Political extremism and radicalism. Far-right & left political groups in the US, Europe, & Australia. Part 1 : | |
Coverage: |
|
| "Liberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. To comprehend modern governmental and societal systems researchers must understand the environment that created them, their origins, and their adversaries. In the Political Extremism and Radicalism series Gale provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources." | |
| Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more. | |
| Project Muse | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - leading provider of digital humanities & social science content for the scholarly community - Complete, full-text articles in academic journals from 200+ university presses & learned societies + indexing for their scholarly books. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| ProQuest historical annual reports | |
| MUN coverage is 1844-2008 only. Coverage: 1844-2008 available online: |
|
| Database offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, related names industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases. | |
| Readers' guide retrospective | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1890-1982 available online: |
|
| Index - Covers subjects in the popular press - history of 20th century America through magazine content - over three million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many are peer reviewed. | |
| Rise and fall of Senator Joseph R. McCarthy | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1947-1977: |
|
| The brief but dramatic political reign of Senator Joseph Raymond McCarthy (1908-1957) is examined in this collection, from the Wheeling speech in 1950 to McCarthy's condemnation by the Senate in late 1954. McCarthy rode the crest of U.S. anti-communist paranoia in the early 1950s, and his tactics of accusation through insinuation and innuendo have come to be known as "McCarthyism". His popularity was short-lived, however; in 1954 his television appearances severely damaged his image, followed by a backlash by his political opponents resulting in a condemnation vote by the Senate in December that year. | |
| Romania : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1963: |
|
| Romania in the postwar Stalinist era is the subject of this archive. The Red Army swept into Romania in 1944, and in the late 1940s and 1950s the Romanian Communist Party imposed a totalitarian regime. An elaborate security system manned by the secret police and supported by a repressive prison network, enforced obedience to the party. Documents include excerpts from "International Developments of Naval Interest," 6 February 1948, by the Office of Naval Intelligence: "Confiscation of private property in an attempt to destroy the capitalist class, heretofore limited to Rumanian businessmen, is now being extended to foreigners. One method employed by the Rumanian Government is to accuse foreign owners of 'economic sabotage.'... Another method being employed to seize foreign businesses is to tax them out of existence." The documents here are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplo | |
| Salem Press | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - complete contents of selected reference titles covering literature, history & music - searchable by author, subject, genre or geographical location - Critical Insights (authors, themes & works), Critical Surveys, Masterplots, Milestone documents, Decades series. | |
| Social justice suite | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| In October 2016, HeinOnline unveiled Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, a unique database released free of charge on a global scale to help librarians guide their communities and create an environment for open and positive dialogue. Less than three years later, we announced another free database, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, with the same vision. In 2020, at a crucial moment in history, we were proud to offer Civil Rights and Social Justice, another free research database dedicated to the fight for civil rights in America. | |
| Socialism and National Unity in Yugoslavia, 1945-63 : records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-1963: |
|
| "During World War II, Yugoslavia was divided between the Axis powers and their allies. Royal army soldiers, calling themselves Cetnici (Chetniks), formed a Serbian resistance movement, but a more determined communist resistance under the Partisans, with Soviet and Anglo-American help, liberated all of Yugoslavia by 1944. In an effort to avoid Serbian domination during the post-war years, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Montenegro were given separate and equal republican status within the new socialist federation of Yugoslavia; Kosovo and Vojvodina were made autonomous provinces within Yugoslavia. Despite the attempts at a federal system of government for Yugoslavia, Serbia played the leading role in Yugoslavia's political life for the next 4 decades. Yugoslavia remained independent of the U.S.S.R., as Tito broke with Stalin and asserted Yugoslav independence. Tito went on to control Yugoslavia for 35 years. Under communist rule, Yugoslavia was transformed from an agrarian to an | |
| Trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War | |
Coverage: |
|
| The trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War are a unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman's experience of the war. These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such they contain the hitherto unheard voices of hundreds of thousands of men and women writing from every facet of the conflict. They were written and illustrated by service personnel from a huge variety of units: the infantry, artillery, air force, naval, supply and transport units, military hospitals and training depots of all combatant nations including America, Britain, Germany, Canada, France, Australia and New Zealand. Although the majority of journals that have survived originate from units based on the Western Front in France and Belgium, there are also magazines from units serving on the Eastern Front, in Gallipoli, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain and America. Commonly referred to | |
| Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944 | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1930-1944: |
|
| The documents in this collection on Turkey, Greece, and the Balkans are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. Contained here is the Greco-Turkish Convention signed at Ankara, 10 June 1930. Most of the archive is in French and Turkish. | |
| Women's magazine 1 | |
Coverage: |
|
| A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more; this material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics and marketing/media history. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and include non-article items, such as advertisements. Detailed article-level indexing, with document feature flags, enables searching and navigation. | |
| World War II, occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949 : records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1940-1949: |
|
| The Axis occupation of Greece during World War II began in April 1941 after the German and Italian invasion of Greece was carried out together with Bulgarian forces. The occupation lasted until the German withdrawal from the mainland in October 1944. The occupation brought about terrible hardships for the Greek civilian population. Over 300,000 civilians died in Athens alone from starvation, tens of thousands more through reprisals; minorities, particularly Jews, were deported to concentration camps; and, in the Bulgarian and German occupied areas, ethnic cleansing attempted to eradicate generations of Greek residents. The country's economy was ruined and the food situation desperate. When liberation came in October 1944, Greece was in a state of crisis, which soon led to the outbreak of civil war. The Greek Civil War was fought from 1946 to 1949 between the pro-Western Greek governmental army and the Communist Democratic Army of Greece. It was the result of a highly polarized struggle | |
History, United States - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| Ancestry | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world. | |
| Early English books online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1473-1700 available online: |
|
| Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements. | |
| Early English books online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1473-1700 available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements. | |
| Early English books online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1473-1700 available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements. | |
| Gale primary sources | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-2012 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |