Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

History, World (Other) - Try These First

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Bibliography of the history and archaeology of Eastern Europe in the Middle Ages
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
The Bibliography of the History and Archaeology of Eastern Europe in the Middle Ages covers the history and archaeology of medieval East Central and Eastern Europe from about AD 500 to the aftermath of the Mongol invasion of 1241. It contains over 65,000 bibliographical records covering a wide range of materials, including books, articles, chapters from edited volumes, theses and dissertations, as well as regional bibliographies. Entries are full-text searchable, with filters for browsing functionality. It is updated annually.
Historical abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1955-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Abstracts - Discover significant, groundbreaking, academic works on world history (excluding North America) from 1450-present: search world, regional, country & local histories, military history, women's history, history of education, etc + historical period searching - Comprehensive coverage of articles from 2,300+ historical journals, books & dissertations - "CLIO Notes for Historical Abstracts" provide chronologies & brief summaries of significant events / themes in modern history.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

History, World (Other) - More Specifically

ABC CLIO eBook collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health.
AfricaBib
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Index - search 220,000+ records describing Africana social science periodical literature - comprises records from 2 major bibliographies: Africana periodical literature and African women's literature + a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers & explorers to Africa + several smaller topical bibliographies.
Albania : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
Albania established a Communist regime and a one-party system under Yugoslav and Soviet guidance. The People’s Republic of Albania, declared in January 1946, was led by Enver Hoxha (1908-1985), Stalin’s disciple, who served as party general secretary, prime minister, and commander in chief. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
Alternative press index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1969-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : ABSEES
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1939-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Subjects: anthropology; culture & the arts; economics; politics; education; and geography - Journal articles, books & their chapters, dissertations, online resources and government documents are indexed - See EBSEES for additional coverage.
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) historical monographs collection. Series 1
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1200-1893 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 15,000 digitized books covering religious doctrinal, social & organizational change - Covers prayer, history of prayer & explication of prayers - recovery of biblical languages + titles in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew & Syriac - devotional material, spiritualism & the pursuit of holiness & sanctification - biographies of great leaders of the Church from its early days (Augustine) to the time of the Reformation (Luther, Calvin, Wesley) - early, middle & recent history of Christianity - Christian life & ethics, pastoral theology & devotional literature - writings of major scholars in Christian history - early writings on eastern religions.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
Arctic & Antarctic regions
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
Bibliografía mesoamericana
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1514-2012 available online:
Index - 73,000+ records describing books, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations/theses, audio/visual materials, etc. on Mesoamerica [México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras & El Salvador] - covers archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, & related disciplines.
Bibliographieportal zur Geschichte Ostmitteleuropas = Bibliography portal on the history of East Central Europe
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 800,000+ records describing scholarly literature concerning the history of Eastern Central European areas - covers journal articles, books/chapters & encyclopedias/articles - maintained by the Herder Institut for an international consortium.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Bulgaria : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1945-1949
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1949:
The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Bulgaria. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal File 874, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Bulgaria, for the years 1945-1949.
Bulgaria : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1950-1954
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-1954:
The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Bulgaria. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 769, 869, 969, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Bulgaria, for the years 1950-1954.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Cold War : voices of confrontation and conciliation
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-2002:
At the end of World War II, English author and journalist George Orwell used the term cold war in his essay "You and the Atomic Bomb", published October 19, 1945, in the British newspaper Tribune. Contemplating a world living in the shadow of the threat of nuclear warfare, he warned of a "peace that is no peace", which he called a permanent "cold war", Orwell directly referred to that war as the ideological confrontation between the Soviet Union and the Western powers. The first use of the term to describe the post-World War II geopolitical tensions between the USSR and its satellites and the United States and its western European allies is attributed to Bernard Baruch. In a speech delivered on April 16, 1947, he stated, "Let us not be deceived: we are today in the midst of a cold war." This collection will provide a unique opportunity to read the recollections of many of the players in the Cold War. These transcripts of oral recollections will assist scholars in understanding the moti
Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-1945:
Consists of historical documents from the British National Archives that offer perspectives on politics, diplomacy and everyday life in the German-occupied countries. Includes detailed information indexed by year and section, from the occupied states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and the Vatican, and the neutral countries--Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland--along with a day-by-day chronology of the war, photographs and posters from The National Archives, film footage of Special Operations Executive (SOE) agents in France from the Imperial War Museum, links to related resources and three newly commissioned essays by leading experts in addition to a comprehensive introduction by Dr. Michael Stenton.
Continental Europe database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1955-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 245,000+ records describing articles in 317 academic journals from scholarly publishers & educational institutions in France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain & Portugal - subject coverage: business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education & humanities.
Czechoslovakia from liberation to Communist state, 1945-63 : records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
This collection documents the creation of the Third Republic, which was established after World War II, and differed markedly from the First Republic of 1918. The Third Republic was created as a result of a compromise between pre-war Czechoslovak Republic leaders and the Czech Communist Party (KSC). The Republic's hopes were subverted by the KSC, which at the time had considerable popular support and the backing of the Soviet Union.
Daily life through history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines.
Dialnet
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
DTIC online : information for the defense community
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
East & South Asia Database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 52,000+ records describing articles in academic journals published in South & East Asian countries by scholarly publishing organizations & educational institutions - major subject areas are represented: business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education & humanities - includes 50,000+ full-text articles.
EconLit
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1886-present available online:
User Guide
EconLit includes the most sought-after economics publications including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews--all expertly indexed, classified, and linkable to full-text library holdings.
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Eighteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-1799 available online:
Full-text - Over 180,000 titles - Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera - Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies.
Eighteenth century journals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: circa 1685-1815 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Articles from British, Irish, Canadian, Caribbean and Indian magazines, journals & newspapers - Covers all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political & literary life: colonial life, provincial / rural affairs, the French and American revolutions.
Empire online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 15th-20th century available online:
Full Text - Includes 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies - Coverage includes: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
Europa world plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current information available online:
User Guide
Index, data, full-text - economic, political, historical & geographic profiles with statistics for 250+ countries & global regions - includes contact information for national political, business, media & cultural agencies / officials + 1,900 international organizations - search / browse by country, region, organization, person.
European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : EBSEES = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1991-2007 available online:
Index - Over 85,500 titles - Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern Europe (former Communist countries) that were published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Great Britain, and Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland - Covers the social sciences and humanities.
Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1945-1949
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1949:
The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal File 860d, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1945-1949.
Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1950-1954
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-1954:
The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1950-1954.
Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1955-1959
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1955-1959:
The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1955-1963.
Finland : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1960-Jan. 1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-Jan. 1963:
The documents in this collection are primarily instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Finland. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments in the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals. Contained here are U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 760e, 860e, and 960e, Records Relating to the Internal Affairs of Finland, for the years 1955-1963.
French 17
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises records describing research literature covering 17th Century French studies: includes summaries of articles, books & book reviews - covers literary history & criticism + bibliography, linguistics & language, politics, society, philosophy, science, religion & the arts.
Gale newsvault
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: approx. 1600-2005 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - cross-search 8 major historic newspaper archives: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, British Library Newspapers 1800-1899, Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003, Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 & Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005 - comprises 10+ million page images with newspaper articles, editorials, letters, advertisements, reviews, etc.
Google arts & culture
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Images - access the art works, cultural treasures & interiors of 1200+ leading museums worldwide - high-resolution images of 1.0+ million artworks & artifacts + virtual tours of thousands of galleries & other spaces in participating museums using Google's street-view technology - explore, through detailed images, historical sites, individuals, events & treasures.
Greece : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-1963:
This archive focuses on Greece in the Cold War era in the aftermath of the Greek Civil War, which took a heavy toll, in the late 1940s. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
Guerra Civil Española = the Spanish Civil War collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1936-1939:
Approximately 3,000 rare pamphlets from the period of the Spanish Civil War, including publications from Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines, as well as more than 100 German pamphlets published in Spanish.
Historische Bibliographie online : historische Bibliographie und Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers literature in the field of history with strength in German publications -- journal articles, monographs & anthologies -- supplemented by the Jahrbuch detailing emergent, not yet published, research -- search interface / results in German
HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1935-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year.
Humanities & social sciences index retrospective
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-1984 available online:
Index - Academic & popular journals covering all humanities & social sciences research areas - Covers 1,300,000 articles from nearly 1,200 English-language
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Hungary : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
Hungary from the end of the Second World War to 1963 is the focus of this collection. Covered here is the critical period of the Hungarian Uprising of 1956 against the Soviet-backed government, and one of the most dramatic events of the Cold War, the flow of tens of thousands of refugees out of Hungary is tracked in many records. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
IMF eLibrary
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1946-present available online:
Index, full-text - access content from periodicals, books, working papers and studies + data and statistical tools from the International Monetary Fund's - covers macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
Index to Jewish periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish history, activity and thought - intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
Italinemo : riviste di italianistica nel mondo
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 30,000+ records describing articles from 130 Italian & international periodicals that focus on Italian literary & cultural studies - find articles using the Ricerca Articoli search interface; find reviews using the Ricerca Recensioni interface - search all journals or individual titles from the Titolo rivista drop-down list ; use Italian keywords or select subjects from the Descrittori Lista.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Library of Latin texts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Click "Enter databases" button at right; then select database (either series A or series B).
Index, full-text - comprises texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council - covers all works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - presents complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, Thomas a Kempis and more.
Military database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1916-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers military & government matters: international relations, foreign policy, political science, armed forces & defense, national security, war, aeronautics & space flight, navigation, communications, civil engineering & more - comprises records describing 3 million articles from 725+ trade / scholarly journals & magazines [most full-text] + 12.3 million stories from newspapers & newswires + 1 million technical reports, etc.
Nineteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
Occupation and independence : the Austrian Second Republic, 1945-1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
The experience of the Anschluss and Nazi rule deepened the commitment of Austrians to parliamentary democracy and Austrian statehood. The electorate remained divided into three political camps--socialist/Marxist, Catholic, and nationalist/liberal--but cooperation replaced extreme political polarization. Through Allied occupation, slow economic growth, dependency on Marshall Plan, the Second Republic became a stable democracy. The major political parties strove towards ending Allied occupation and restoring a fully independent Austria. Upon the termination of Allied occupation, Austria was proclaimed a neutral country, and "everlasting" neutrality was incorporated into the Constitution on October 26, 1955. Collection contents are drawn from the "Central classified files" of the U.S. Dept. of State.
Österreichische historische Bibliographie : ÖHB
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
Index - Over 200,000 titles - The OHB (Austrian Historical Bibliography) is a bibliography of historical literature published in Austrian books, periodicals, festschriften and dissertations since 1945 and relating primarily to Austrian history.
PAIS index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers international policy oriented literature: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science & technology - Comprises 625,800 records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more.
Patriotes aux armes! = (Patriots to arms!) : the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1939-1945:
This collection consists of newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy.
Poland : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
After the Second World War Stalin's highest priority in Eastern Europe was the takeover of Poland. The rigged elections in January 1947 followed by the merger of the Communist and Socialist parties in December 1948 assured the complete Communist takeover of the country. The new regime exercised near total control over society and established a command economy. Hence, for example, documents on internal security force activities in 1949 note "intensified attacks by Anglo-American imperialism." The documents here are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
ProQuest ebook central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.
Psychological warfare and propaganda in World War II : air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1939-1945:
This publication collection consists of over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War. The majority of items in this collection were printed by the Allies then air or container dropped, or fired by artillery shell over German occupied territory. Many leaflets and periodicals have original publication codes and were printed in over 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English.
RI Opac : literature database for the middle ages
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index - online bibliography of books, journals & articles on medieval history from late antiquity to the 16th century - covers archaeology, history, art, literature, music, philosophy, language, theology, etc. - search using keywords, names or terms from the RI systematic and alphabetic thesaurus - includes all references in the “Regesta Imperii Online”
Romania : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
Romania in the postwar Stalinist era is the subject of this archive. The Red Army swept into Romania in 1944, and in the late 1940s and 1950s the Romanian Communist Party imposed a totalitarian regime. An elaborate security system manned by the secret police and supported by a repressive prison network, enforced obedience to the party. Documents include excerpts from "International Developments of Naval Interest," 6 February 1948, by the Office of Naval Intelligence: "Confiscation of private property in an attempt to destroy the capitalist class, heretofore limited to Rumanian businessmen, is now being extended to foreigners. One method employed by the Rumanian Government is to accuse foreign owners of 'economic sabotage.'... Another method being employed to seize foreign businesses is to tax them out of existence." The documents here are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplo
Salem Press
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full-text - complete contents of selected reference titles covering literature, history & music - searchable by author, subject, genre or geographical location - Critical Insights (authors, themes & works), Critical Surveys, Masterplots, Milestone documents, Decades series.
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Socialism and National Unity in Yugoslavia, 1945-63 : records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-1963:
"During World War II, Yugoslavia was divided between the Axis powers and their allies. Royal army soldiers, calling themselves Cetnici (Chetniks), formed a Serbian resistance movement, but a more determined communist resistance under the Partisans, with Soviet and Anglo-American help, liberated all of Yugoslavia by 1944. In an effort to avoid Serbian domination during the post-war years, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Montenegro were given separate and equal republican status within the new socialist federation of Yugoslavia; Kosovo and Vojvodina were made autonomous provinces within Yugoslavia. Despite the attempts at a federal system of government for Yugoslavia, Serbia played the leading role in Yugoslavia's political life for the next 4 decades. Yugoslavia remained independent of the U.S.S.R., as Tito broke with Stalin and asserted Yugoslav independence. Tito went on to control Yugoslavia for 35 years. Under communist rule, Yugoslavia was transformed from an agrarian to an
Trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War

Coverage:
The trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War are a unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman's experience of the war. These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such they contain the hitherto unheard voices of hundreds of thousands of men and women writing from every facet of the conflict. They were written and illustrated by service personnel from a huge variety of units: the infantry, artillery, air force, naval, supply and transport units, military hospitals and training depots of all combatant nations including America, Britain, Germany, Canada, France, Australia and New Zealand. Although the majority of journals that have survived originate from units based on the Western Front in France and Belgium, there are also magazines from units serving on the Eastern Front, in Gallipoli, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain and America. Commonly referred to
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1930-1944:
The documents in this collection on Turkey, Greece, and the Balkans are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. Contained here is the Greco-Turkish Convention signed at Ankara, 10 June 1930. Most of the archive is in French and Turkish.
U.K. parliamentary papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1688-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full text - rich, detailed primary source for Britain, its colonies & the wider world over the past three centuries - complete House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (AKA Sessional Papers or Blue Books): Bills, House papers, Command papers + Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees + Hansard, the Official Report of debates in the House of Commons & House of Lords, 1803 to 2005.
UNBISnet : UN bibliographic information system
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1979-present; resolutions 1946-present available online:
Index - Covers United Nations documentation - Includes records for UN documents, commercial publications, and other sources - Full text links to UN resolutions, voting records, and speeches of the General Assembly (1983-), the Security Council (1983-), the Economic and Social Council (1983-), and the Trusteeship Council (1982-).
Virtual Library Eastern Europe
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1400-present available online:
Index, abstracts - interdisciplinary portal providing access to specialized academic information on history, language, literature, politics, information science & culture of East, Central East & South East European countries & historical regions - ViFaOst cross-searches several relevant online library catalogues, databases & bibliographies + selected journal indexes, archives & full-text collections.
World War II, occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949 : records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-1949:
The Axis occupation of Greece during World War II began in April 1941 after the German and Italian invasion of Greece was carried out together with Bulgarian forces. The occupation lasted until the German withdrawal from the mainland in October 1944. The occupation brought about terrible hardships for the Greek civilian population. Over 300,000 civilians died in Athens alone from starvation, tens of thousands more through reprisals; minorities, particularly Jews, were deported to concentration camps; and, in the Bulgarian and German occupied areas, ethnic cleansing attempted to eradicate generations of Greek residents. The country's economy was ruined and the food situation desperate. When liberation came in October 1944, Greece was in a state of crisis, which soon led to the outbreak of civil war. The Greek Civil War was fought from 1946 to 1949 between the pro-Western Greek governmental army and the Communist Democratic Army of Greece. It was the result of a highly polarized struggle

History, World (Other) - Also to Consider

Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Ancestry
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-present available online:
User Guide
Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Index to United Nations documents and publications
Available as CD-ROM on workstation, Webcat24, in The Commons on level 2.
Coverage: 1946-2006 available online:
Index - Includes references to the official records, documents & periodicals published by the United Nations, including full-text UN Resolutions, selected Provisional Verbatim & Summary documents. (See DATABASE = UNBISnet for additional / later information).
IsisCB explore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1974-2014 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Official document system
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1946-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers official United Nations documentation from 1993 to present: documents, resolutions & administrative issuances of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council and their subsidiaries - thousands of scanned documents published 1946-1993 have been added.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
World Digital Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 8000 B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - Internet-based, easily-accessible collection of cultural treasures from countries & cultures around the world - Includes digitized primary materials: manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, sound recordings, films, prints, photographs, etc. - Navigation tools & content descriptions available in 7 languages; more languages represented by the digital artefacts.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.