Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Law - Try These First |
|
| CanLII : Canadian Legal Information Institute | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Full-text - Provides access to primary sources of Canadian Law accessible - Includes legislative and judicial texts and legal commentaries, from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions. | |
| Legal source | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 2.5 million records describing scholarly articles, case citations, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, periodicals and more - covers current issues, studies & trends in the legal world: criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment & more - the collection includes 1,200+ full-text scholarly law journals | |
| Nexis Uni | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais. | |
| SSRN eLibrary | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1995-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Abstracts, full-text -- Comprises abstracts describing 581,000+ papers contributed by scholars worldwide, with links to full text - its Electronic Paper Collection offers full-text for 482,000+ working papers in PDF format -- Bibliometric analysis: 9 million references & 9.1 million footnotes have been matched to 6 million citations in EPC papers -- Entries include complete title, author, affiliation, ORCID IDs, abstract or description, keywords & distribution history. | |
Law - More Specifically |
|
| Annual statutes | |
Coverage: 2001- available online: |
|
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Canadian enviroOSH legislation plus standards | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Current available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises consolidated texts of all current Canadian health, safety & environmental legislation, critical guidelines & codes of practice [federal + 10 provinces & 3 territories] + quick guides: Legislation by Topic, CCOHS Legislation Monthly Report & OSH Answers: Legislation + relevant CGSB & CSA standards - browse by jurisdiction or topic; search using keywords or phrases in one jurisdiction or across all jurisdictions. | |
| Canadian research index : CRI | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1982-2018 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, selected Full text online, Full text ALL on microfiche -- CRI covers Canadian government documents / reports created at the federal, provincial & municipal levels, scientific & technical reports, statistical reports, policy papers, annual reports -- Some CRI records include links to full text; ALL CRI records provide a Microlog ID; ALL CRI reports are available in the Microlog microfiche collection (Level 1, Queen Elizabeth II Library). | |
| Criminal justice abstracts with full text | |
Coverage: 1968-present available online: |
User Guide |
| This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text's coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. | |
| Criminal justice database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprehensive international database covering 250+ criminal justice journals: criminology, law enforcement, corrections administration, addiction & drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, industrial security. | |
| EmploymentSource | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| An online employment law research tool combining expert commentary, case law and legislation. | |
| FAOLEX | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - treaties, laws and regulations on food, agriculture & renewable natural resources worldwide - covers agriculture, livestock, environment, fisheries, food, forestry, land & soil, cultivated plants, water, wild species & ecosystems - records in English, French or Spanish or the language of communication used by the originating country. | |
| GALLOP portal : government and legislative libraries online publications portal = Portail des PGPE : Portails des publications gouvernementales et parlementaires électronique | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1995-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - one-stop online access to 475,000+ provincial, territorial & federal government publications / legislative materials - GALLOP indexes full-text & bibliographic records from online government documents collections of the Canadian federal government + 10 provincial / territorial jurisdictions. | |
| International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1951-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews. | |
| LabourSource | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1948-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - Covers labour & employment legislation from all Canadian jurisdictions + labour cases & court decisions, labour arbitration cases & summaries - Includes full-text access to "Canadian labour arbitration? by Brown & Beatty. | |
| Law Commons | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Full-text - provides free access to 300,000+ full-text scholarly articles and other research in the area of law from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. | |
| LEGISinfo | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Jan. 1994-present available online: |
|
| Research tool for finding legislation before Parliament (beginning January 2001) - Includes text & status of bills, debates in Parliament, Committee meetings and reports, legislative summaries, and further readings. | |
| NCJRS abstracts database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 220,000+ summaries describing resources in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service library collection - includes government documents, books, research reports, journal articles & unpublished research - covers: corrections, courts, crime & crime prevention, drugs & substance abuse, law enforcement & the justice system, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness & victims. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| Regs4ships | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text -- searchable database comprising shipping & maritime codes, regulations, legislation & documents from the International Maritime Organization [IMO], International Labour Organization, European Union + Maritime & Coastguard Agency & other U.K. government departments. | |
| Social justice suite | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| In October 2016, HeinOnline unveiled Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, a unique database released free of charge on a global scale to help librarians guide their communities and create an environment for open and positive dialogue. Less than three years later, we announced another free database, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, with the same vision. In 2020, at a crucial moment in history, we were proud to offer Civil Rights and Social Justice, another free research database dedicated to the fight for civil rights in America. | |
| Worldwide political science abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers politics & political science: international relations & trade, law, electoral systems, developing nations, disarmament, environmental policy, security & military policy, public administration, etc. - comprises 1.5 million records describing journal articles, books/chapters, dissertations, reviews. | |
Law - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| Annual reviews | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1932-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| EHPS : European history primary sources | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 500-present available online: |
|
| Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source. | |
| Gale primary sources | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-2012 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time. | |
| Index to United Nations documents and publications | |
|
Available as CD-ROM on workstation, Webcat24, in The Commons on level 2. Coverage: 1946-2006 available online: |
|
| Index - Includes references to the official records, documents & periodicals published by the United Nations, including full-text UN Resolutions, selected Provisional Verbatim & Summary documents. (See DATABASE = UNBISnet for additional / later information). | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Open Knowledge Repository | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1978-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |