Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Library Catalogs - Try These First |
|
| Explore the British Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 500 C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - comprises 60+ million records describing items in the BL: 14 million records for books, journals, newspapers, conferences, maps, scores, etc. + 50 million for journal articles + 5 million describing items in the BL Sound Archive - thousands of records for BL web pages + titles in its OA WebArchive + licensed electronic journals, e-books & databases - some BL specialist & manuscript catalogues are not yet included. | |
| Library of Congress online catalog | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Over 14 million records - Includes bibliographic records for books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, cartographic and visual materials. | |
| Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - popular fiction, non-fiction, audio materials and DVDs held in Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries - links to its eResource collection of research databases, its eLibrary selection of e-books & audio books, the Newfoundland & Labrador resource collection and its programs & services. | |
| WorldCat : FirstSearch | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1000 B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - union catalogue comprising more than 300 million full bibliographic records describing materials in 470+ languages held by 72,000+ OCLC member libraries world-wide - find catalogue records for books, manuscripts, newspapers/journals/magazines, maps, musical scores, media including films/slides/videotapes/sound recordings/CDs/DVDs/etc, computer programs, websites/internet resources - many digital items can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
Library Catalogs - More Specifically |
|
| Bibliotek.dk | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - National bibliography & union catalogue comprising 13 million records describing books, periodicals, newspapers, music, sheet music, video tapes/DVDs, CD-ROMs, audio books etc. held in Denmark’s public & academic libraries - also covers major articles published in Danish newspapers & periodicals since 1945. | |
| Books2ebooks : the future of reading is digital | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1500-1900 available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search over 5.8 million books from 36 libraries - giving direct access to digitised items as well as books offered for digitisation on demand. | |
| Catálogo BNE - Biblioteca Nacional de España | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - the Biblioteca Nacional is the main information & document centre for Spanish and Ibero-American written, graphic & audiovisual culture - its catalogue comprises 3.3 million records describing all holdings: books, manuscripts, periodicals, photographs, drawings, posters & engravings, scores & sheet music, maps, audio & video recordings + ephemera, incunabula & other archival materials. | |
| Catalogue | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Catalogue - A searchable online catalogue containing all records from the Bibliothèque et Archives nationale du Québec. | |
| Catalogue collectif de France : CCFr | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Covers over 20 million titles held at Le Répertoire National des Bibliothèques et Centres de Documentation, 55 public libraries and 110 university libraries - Includes information about French libraries and archives and their collections. | |
| Center for Research Libraries online catalog | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - the Center for Research Libraries collects research materials not targeted by other North American research institutions, many from Africa, the Middle East, Southeast & South Asia, Latin America - tabbed searchable collections include Serials | |
| Digital Public Library of America | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Search engine - single point of access to millions of items including photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline, map, format, and topic. Users can also save items to customized lists and share their lists with others. | |
| Gallica : la bibliothèque numérique | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1100-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue, full-text - explore French culture, history, literature, science, law, political science, economics, science & technology through digitized collections from the Bibliothèque nationale de France - huge freely available online library comprising 20,000 archival periodicals & 635,000 books + thousands of digitized maps, images, animations, sound recordings, scores, manuscripts & more - French + other European languages. | |
| Helveticat | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Swiss National Library (NL) catalogue includes all monographs, sheet music and scores, microforms, multimedia, maps and atlases, and partial coverage of newspapers and journals - Also includes sound documents in the Swiss National Sound Archives (SNP) - Does not cover the information of the Subject Catalogue prior to 1998. | |
| Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - holdings of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek, formed by the merger of the Deutsche Bucherei in Leipzig (national library of East Germany) and the Deutsche Bibliothek in Frankfurt am Main (national library of West Germany) - comprises citations to 29.7 million monographs, periodicals, maps & atlases, dissertations and translations from German into other languages + foreign language works on Germany and German. | |
| Library hub discover | |
| Internet access unrestricted Coverage: |
|
| Online portal providing access to the collections of national libraries, university libraries, and specialist research libraries in the UK and Ireland. Replaces the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK (SUNCAT) and the British Union Catalogue (COPAC). | |
| OECD iLibrary | |
Coverage: |
|
| While OECD is moving to open access publishing as of July 1, 2024, all OECD publications and data will continue to be available on this site until the end of 2024. Thereafter, all OECD content will be available on the main website (www.oecd.org), which is being redesigned for this purpose. "OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD ... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998." | |
| open library | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Over 20 million records - Free access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books, as well as links to WorldCat and Amazon to assist readers in borrowing or purchasing a physical copy of a book. | |
| Project Gutenberg online book catalog | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Over 33,000 electronic books freely available to download in a variety of languages. | |
| SUDOC catalogue | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Catalogue - Nearly 9 million records - Covers materials in French higher education and research libraries and resource centres - Includes books, dissertations, reviews, electronic resources, audio-visual documents, microfiche, maps, scores, and manuscripts. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites. | |
| Universal short title catalogue | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1436-1599 available online: |
|
| Catalogue - database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing & the end of the sixteenth century - comprises descriptions of approximately 350,000 editions; provides details for 1.5 million surviving copies located in 5,000+ libraries worldwide - access point for digital full-text editions provided by scholarly and commercial partners. | |
| Virtual Library Eastern Europe | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1400-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - interdisciplinary portal providing access to specialized academic information on history, language, literature, politics, information science & culture of East, Central East & South East European countries & historical regions - ViFaOst cross-searches several relevant online library catalogues, databases & bibliographies + selected journal indexes, archives & full-text collections. | |
| World Digital Library | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 8000 B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - Internet-based, easily-accessible collection of cultural treasures from countries & cultures around the world - Includes digitized primary materials: manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, sound recordings, films, prints, photographs, etc. - Navigation tools & content descriptions available in 7 languages; more languages represented by the digital artefacts. | |
| ZDB | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1500-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - world's largest specialized database for serial titles - comprises more than 1 million bibliographic records describing serials from all countries, in all languages - includes database of e-journals and free e-journals arranged by Dewey subject. | |
Library Catalogs - Also to Consider |
|
| Europeana : collections | |
|
Internet access unrestricted Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Digital library created by the European Union. Provides access to over 50 million digitised items contributed by various European libraries and museums, including books, music, and artworks, and artefacts. | |
| IndCat : online union catalogue of Indian universities | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - unified Online Library Catalogue covering 181 major university libraries across India - includes bibliographic description, location & holdings information for 1.4+ million books, 35,200+ journals and 271,500+ doctoral theses in all subject areas. | |
| Linda Hall Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - the LHL is an independent research library for science, engineering & technology - Includes journals, books, conference proceedings, engineering standards, patent specifications, unclassified NASA, DOE & government contractor reports, publications from the major engineering societies & geological maps - explore its digital exhibitions of rare STEM books and sci/tech research guides. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |