Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Medicine - Try These First |
|
| EMBASE | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1966-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index and Abstracts - Over 11 million records from EMBASE; 7 million records from MEDLINE - Covers pharmacological and biomedical research literature. | |
| PubMed | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1948-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added. | |
Medicine - More Specifically |
|
| AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2003-present available online: |
|
| Contains the online version of the most current edition of over 60 medical textbooks and reference books. | |
| Anatomy.tv | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Database contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be stripped away. Includes interactive head & neck, shoulder, hand, thorax & abdomen, spine, pelvis & perineum, hip, knee, and foot. Also included are common pathologies, radiological content, and interactive quizzes. | |
| APA PsycInfo | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1840-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations. | |
| CCOHS academic support program | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers a broad range of environmental and occupational health & safety topics - the OSH References Collection provides 740,000+ article summaries from authoritative, international OSH databases: OSHLINE®, NIOSHTIC®, NIOSHTIC-2, HSELINE, CISILO and more - CCOHS offers cross-database searching of the OSH References collection + MSDS, CHEMINFO, RTECS, CHEMpendium, Canadian legislation & standards + several free resources: CHEMINDEX, ILO Encyclopaedia, INCHEM, OSH Answers & WHMIS classifications. | |
| CINAHL plus with full text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1937-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Abstracts, full-text - covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines - 3 million records from 4,500+ journals, selected health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters - provides 770 full text e-journals and 240 e-books | |
| Cochrane library : evidence for health care decision-making | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1996-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Variable Coverage - Consists mainly of 6 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effects; Cochrane central register of controlled trials; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database; NHS economic evaluation database. | |
| CPS Full Access | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| The CPS is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy by the Canadian Pharmacist's Association (CPhA) . It provides online access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information. | |
| DynaMed | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - clinically-organized summaries for 3,200+ diseases, disorders & symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, diagnosis, diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment & prevention - topically-driven menu allows physicians, medical students & other health care professionals to research high-end synthesized information from respected publications, associations & contributing clinicians - includes 800+ topic summaries on AHFS Drug Information - updated daily with content from 500+ medical journals. | |
| MedSask | |
| Internet access restricted to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| medSask supports appropriate prescribing and medication safety in Saskatchewan by providing accurate, evidence-based information on medications and medication therapy to the general public, healthcare providers, and other stakeholders. | |
| NatMed Pro | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2013-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - up-to-date authoritative resource covering 90,000+ dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary, alternative & integrative therapies - each brand name product report summarizes safety, effectiveness, dosing, adverse effects, toxicology, interactions, pharmacokinetics + evidence for each ingredient contained in the product and more - comprises several databases: Food, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Sports Medicine, Comparative Effectiveness, Manufacturers, Commercial Products & Medical Conditions. | |
| Newfoundland and Labrador health bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1630, 1856-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises records describing journal articles, books/chapters, theses, anecdotal pieces, case reports & scholarly research concerning health, disease, medical conditions, health education & medical care in Newfoundland & Labrador - items listed in the NLHB are available at the Health Sciences Library. | |
| Ovid MEDLINE | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Bibliographic database from National Library of Medicine covering all areas of medicine including veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. | |
| SPORTDiscus with full text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
|
| Variable Coverage - Full text for over 550 journals - International coverage of sport, sport medicine and law, fitness and recreation - Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, theses, websites, and audiovisual items. | |
| UpToDate Lexidrug | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2015-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - collection of clinical databases & decision support tools covering Canadian, U.S. & generic drug names -- clinical databases include: Lexi-Drugs, AHFS Essentials (Adult and Pediatric), AHFS DI (Adult and Pediatric), Pediatric & Neonatal Lexi-Drugs, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs, Patient Education, Pregnancy & Lactation, Infectious Diseases, Drug Allergy & Idiosyncratic Reactions, Natural Products, Pharmacogenomics, Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics, Lexi-Tox Toxicology & Drugs MSDS, Laboratory & diagnostic procedures, Off-label Drug Information, Calculators, Martindale : the complete drug reference. | |
Medicine - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |