Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Medieval Studies - Try These First

Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

Medieval Studies - More Specifically

AATA online : abstracts of international conservation literature
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1880-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 138,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, books / chapters & technical reports - covers conservation, preservation & management of material cultural heritage: architectural heritage, archaeological sites, works of art, cultural objects & materials, production techniques & history of technology - browse using subject terms from the Getty Conservation Institute thesaurus; browse comprehensive subject-specific bibliographies produced for GCI’s conservation & scientific research projects.
Ancient and medieval history online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-1500 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers eight civilizations: ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece & Rome; ancient and medieval Africa; medieval Europe; the Americas; ancient and medieval Asia - Coverage spans prehistory through the 1500s, includes: biographies; primary sources; images; maps and charts; timelines.
année philologique
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1924-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 836,000 records describing academic journal articles & books/chapters + 502,000 book reviews on Classical topics: Greek & Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science from the second millennium BCE to 800 CE + early Christian texts, patristics; numismatics, papyrology, epigraphy .
Annual bibliography of English language and literature : ABELL
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 960,000+ records describing scholarly writings on English language & literature and related topics - Subjects: drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, bibliography, traditional culture, syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics, dialectology, vocabulary, orthography, dictionaries & grammars, language, literature & the computer - Lists monographs, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world, and in any language.
Art index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1929-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers articles, book reviews, exhibit reviews, reproductions of works of art from over 600 academic & popular journals - Covers decorative, fine & commercial art, art history & criticism, archaeology, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, costume design, television & motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, digital art, video art, industrial design, architecture & architectural history, etc.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1949-present, with selected citations back to 1818 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all fields of religion and theology worldwide - Includes 575,000+ citations for journal articles + records for 239,000+ essays from multi-author works, 530,000+ book reviews & a growing number of multimedia sources.
Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1958-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 400,000+ records covering books & book reviews on all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - companion to the index of journal articles in the International Medieval Bibliography online.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writing concerning the British Isles, the British Empire & Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 B.C.E. onwards - Bibliographical data + detailed subject classification for 500,000+ articles in academic & popular journals and books.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Chaucer bibliography online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
Index - Corresponds to the Annotated Chaucer bibliography published annually in the journal, Studies in the Age of Chaucer.
Daily life through history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Feminae : medieval women and gender index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index - Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about femininity, sexuality, gender, homosexuality in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East between 450 C.E. and 1500 C.E.
Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Historische Bibliographie online : historische Bibliographie und Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers literature in the field of history with strength in German publications -- journal articles, monographs & anthologies -- supplemented by the Jahrbuch detailing emergent, not yet published, research -- search interface / results in German
Incunabula short title catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1450-1501 available online:
User Guide
Index - international database of 15th-century European printing - comprises 30,500+ records describing items printed from movable type before 1501 - records include authors, short titles, language of the text, format, printer, place & date of printing; confirmed locations are noted - links to online digital facsimiles are provided + links to other major online catalogues of incunabula.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
Library of Latin texts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Click "Enter databases" button at right; then select database (either series A or series B).
Index, full-text - comprises texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council - covers all works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - presents complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, Thomas a Kempis and more.
literary encyclopedia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - literary reference work comprising 7,600+ authoritative profiles - world-wide coverage of literary & cultural history: individual authors or works + genres, concepts, movements, theories + national / regional developments - features author chronologies with historical context + customizable timelines, thematic or course-oriented bookshelves, related article clusters, critical bibliographies.
Literature online : the home of English and American literature on the World Wide Web
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Resource for literary studies offering access to international criticism covering all aspects & periods of English literature - Comprises millions of records describing scholarly journal articles, essays, book chapters, web sites, etc - Combined searching of the MLA International Bibliography and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) - Integrated with the full text of 365 current literature journals + 4,500 literary biographies & 150+ reference works - Includes full text of 350,000 works of poetry, prose & drama from the 8th to the 21st century + streamed media sources: Poets on Screen (contemporary poets reading their own poems or classic poetry) and Shakespeare Audio Plays.
Music periodicals database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1874-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.3+ million records describing articles from 610 international music periodicals (scholarly & popular) - covers music education & performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, classical music & opera, jazz & blues, rock, soul & hip-hop, folk music, music business, sound recording, music therapy, instruments includes full-text for 225+ journals.
Nordic archaeological abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1974- available online. Password required:
Index and Abstracts - Approximately 20,000 books and journal articles dealing with archaeological investigations, recent as well as medieval and prehistoric - Covers Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Aland Islands, and culturally related areas.
Parker Library on the web

Coverage: 6th to 18th century available online:
User Guide
Index, images - Illuminated manuscripts + Anglo-Saxon, Anglo-Norman & Middle-English texts, and other manuscripts - Covers literature, theology, music, medieval travelogues & maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles & Bibles.
Patrologia Latina : the full text database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1844-1865 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844-1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862-1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Philosopher's index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers philosophy & its interdisciplinary fields: ethics, aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, political philosophy, social philosophy - Comprises 540,000+ records describing articles from 1,600+ journals + books, anthologies, encyclopedias, etc.
RI Opac : literature database for the middle ages
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index - online bibliography of books, journals & articles on medieval history from late antiquity to the 16th century - covers archaeology, history, art, literature, music, philosophy, language, theology, etc. - search using keywords, names or terms from the RI systematic and alphabetic thesaurus - includes all references in the “Regesta Imperii Online”
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Sources : a National Library of Ireland database for Irish research
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-1989 available online:
Index - contains over 180,000 catalogue records for Irish manuscripts and for articles in Irish periodicals. Article records give details of the author, the title, and the citation + information about how to access the periodicals. Manuscript records provide key details about the manuscript including the title, in addition to where it is held and its manuscript number. All records have subject headings.
Tables of contents of journals of interest to classicists : TOCS-IN
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1992-present available online:
Index -- searchable tables of contents from 200 journals in classics & classical studies: archaeology, Greek, Roman & ancient Near East history, Greek & Latin linguistics & literature, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics & palaeography - covers 100,000 articles; fifteen percent of TOCS-IN entries link to the full-text of the articles.

Medieval Studies - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
IsisCB explore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1974-2014 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.