Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Newfoundland and Labrador - Try These First |
|
| Eureka.cc | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - covers 4,000+ local, regional, national & international news sources: newspapers, newswires, radio & television transcripts, trade publications, selected blogs & Web sites; 80,000+ new articles each day - includes 450,000 corporate histories & 130,000 biographical profiles - Full-text coverage for 10+ newspapers from Newfoundland & Labrador. | |
| PAB : Newfoundland periodical article bibliography | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1668-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography covering more than 90,000 periodical articles relating to Newfoundland and Labrador -- Maintained by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University Libraries. | |
Newfoundland and Labrador - More Specifically |
|
| America : history and life | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers history & culture of the United States & Canada, prehistory to the present - citations describe articles from 1,700+ academic & popular journals + books, theses, conference papers, book / media reviews. ("Historical Abstracts" covers history of other countries). | |
| Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Canadian Newsstream | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 15+ million records describing articles in 394 Canadian newspapers, news magazines & wire services - access full-text articles, columns, editorials & features published in 390+ news sources from Canada's leading publishers. | |
| Directory of Newfoundland and Labrador magazines | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1807-present available online: |
|
| Index - Includes magazines published in Newfoundland and held in the collections at the Centre for Newfoundland Studies at the Queen Elizabeth II Library and at the Provincial Resource Library in the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John's - Some magazines with only one or two issues have not been listed at this time. | |
| GeoRef | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1669-present (North America); 1933-present (rest of the world) available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 3.4+ million records describing articles from 3,500 journals as well as books/chapters, maps, geological survey documents & society reports, conference papers, theses / dissertations, etc. - covers all the geosciences: areal, economic, engineering, environmental, extraterrestrial, structural & surficial geology, geochemistry & geophysics, hydrogeology & hydrology, marine geology & oceanography, mineralogy & crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology & stratigraphy. | |
| Google news | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current 30 days available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - automated compilation service & search engine for news - aggregates content from 4,500+ English language news sources - versions for more than 80 regions / languages are available - selection of news stories is fully automated; news sites are selected by human editors from 25,000+ publishers. | |
| Management of the northern cod fishery : a guide to information sources | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1977-2017 available online: |
|
| Bibliography - guide for identifying & locating information resources that deal with the management of the Newfoundland cod fishery in the 2J3KL zone - majority of sources are of a social, political or economic nature, categorized by format & arranged chronologically or alphabetically depending on format. | |
| Newfie newsletter of the Newfoundland Study Group of BNAPS | |
Coverage: no. 1 (1985)- no. 170 (2018) |
|
| Newfoundland and Labrador health bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1630, 1856-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises records describing journal articles, books/chapters, theses, anecdotal pieces, case reports & scholarly research concerning health, disease, medical conditions, health education & medical care in Newfoundland & Labrador - items listed in the NLHB are available at the Health Sciences Library. | |
| Newfoundland and Labrador map bibliography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1497-1949 available online: |
|
| Index - records, many with extensive notes, describing printed & manuscript maps of Newfoundland & Labrador in libraries / archives in Newfoundland, other parts of Canada, the United States & the United Kingdom - emphasis is on the current geographical boundaries of the Province of Newfoundland & Labrador. | |
| Newfoundland Colonization and Mining Company, Limited | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: |
|
| Newfoundland Newsletter BNAPS Newfoundland Study Group | |
Coverage: no.171 (2018)- |
|
| Newfoundland Public Libraries newspaper index | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-1989 (SCATTERED coverage): |
|
| Index, limited full text - Covers the Evening Telegram (St. John's): 1978-1987 + 1950-1977 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Daily News (St. John's): 1978-1984 +1950-1977 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Western Star (Corner Brook): 1950-1979 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Diocesan Magazine (1889-1958) and Newfoundland Churchman (1959-1987). Links FROM ENTRIES to full text of the Daily News, 1955-1963, and the Evening Telegram, 1914-1918, ONLY ARE INCLUDED. | |
Newfoundland and Labrador - Also to Consider |
|
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Google scholar : [open access] | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |