Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

News - Try These First

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Eureka.cc
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 4,000+ local, regional, national & international news sources: newspapers, newswires, radio & television transcripts, trade publications, selected blogs & Web sites; 80,000+ new articles each day - includes 450,000 corporate histories & 130,000 biographical profiles - Full-text coverage for 10+ newspapers from Newfoundland & Labrador.
Factiva
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Find credible facts, pinpoint trends, perform precise research, update news stories using 35,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages - Covers influential local / national / international newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data, hard facts and numbers.
Gale newsvault
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: approx. 1600-2005 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - cross-search 8 major historic newspaper archives: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, British Library Newspapers 1800-1899, Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003, Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 & Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005 - comprises 10+ million page images with newspaper articles, editorials, letters, advertisements, reviews, etc.
International newsstream
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 157.3+ million recent news stories from 1,039 newspapers & 152 newswires / blogs emanating from areas outside of the U.S.A. & Canada - includes: Asian Newsstream ; Australia & New Zealand Newsstream ; European Newsstream ; Latin American Newsstream ; Middle East & African Newsstream.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest recent newspapers. The New York Times

Coverage:
This database offers full-page images from the New York Times dating back to 2008 and goes up through the most recent issue with a three-month embargo. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable.
WN.com
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2004-present available online:
Index, full-text - presents news from 750+ reputable sources including mainstream providers BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, New York Times, etc to more regional & localized sources - provides a variety of perspectives & different interpretations on breaking news events; brings together current news from all over the world in 100+ languages; offers 30 regional news editions.

News - More Specifically

17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-1799 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprehensive collection of early English news media comprising 1,194 newspapers + nearly 100 examples of corantos, news-books & other early forms gathered by the Rev. Charles Burney - comprises nearly 1 million pages of digitized primary source material, mainly from London & provincial towns throughout the British Isles + America & Asia.
19th century U.S. newspapers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 500+ newspapers from a range of urban & rural regions throughout the U.S. - comprises 1.8 million digital facsimile images of full pages, clipped articles, advertisements & illustrations - encompasses the entire 19th century: the Civil War & Confederacy, Native American & African-American culture & history, women’s rights, Western migration, labor & Antebellum-era life, among other subjects + essays by journalism historians to provide context & clarity to the collection.
19th century UK periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - content from 300+ national, regional, local, colonial & missionary, popular, women's & children's periodicals + professional & academic journals - comprises more than 2 million pages covering literature, science, agriculture, trade & industry, medicine, travel, geography & anthropology, humour, theatre, music, sport, recreation, politics, economics, education, social reform & philanthropy, religion, fine arts, architecture.
ABI/INFORM dateline
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 400+ local / regional / national business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services & other media - specializes in hard-to-find regional business publications with news & analysis covering local companies & markets, employment opportunities, benefits & compensation, corporate strategies, etc.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
BBC news
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2015-present available online:
Full-text - Up-to-the-minute international & national news and feature stories posted on the British Broadcasting Corporation's web site - also covers entertainment, business, science, sports, technology & health news.
Bloomberg business
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - Worldwide coverage of business, financial & political News from Bloomberg’s magazines, TV stations & radio programs - Markets covers stocks, interest rates, bonds, currencies, mutual funds, exchange traded funds & commodities; stock search provides detailed charts, historic pricing, volume, company news & various financial indicators - Insights: Personal Finance offers stock recommendations, portfolio tracker, financial calculator tool & financial glossary.
Canadian Newsstream
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 15+ million records describing articles in 394 Canadian newspapers, news magazines & wire services - access full-text articles, columns, editorials & features published in 390+ news sources from Canada's leading publishers.
Country report
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1996-present available online:
Index, full-text - access online quarterly reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit describing national, regional & global events that will affect business in nearly 200 countries - reports examine issues affecting each country: political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, foreign trade & payments - detailed two-year forecasts + statistical data complement each analysis & pinpoint political / economic trends.
Global breaking newswires
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1994-present available online;
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 11.2 million records describing newswire content from around the globe; full-text newswire articles enhance each record - newswires are a chief source for timely news; newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe - wires are available in various languages: Arabic, English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Spanish, etc.
Google news
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current 30 days available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - automated compilation service & search engine for news - aggregates content from 4,500+ English language news sources - versions for more than 80 regions / languages are available - selection of news stories is fully automated; news sites are selected by human editors from 25,000+ publishers.
Irish newspaper archives
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700s-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full text - Keyword searchable online archive of Irish national, regional & specialty newspapers - over 6 million pages from over 500,000 issues of Irish Newspaper publications.
PAIS index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers international policy oriented literature: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science & technology - Comprises 625,800 records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The globe and mail
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1844 to 4 years ago available online:
Full Text, Images - Over 1.4 million pages from Canada's national newspaper - Coverage includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more -- breadth / depth of content make it a vital tool for Canadian studies.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Irish times and the Weekly Irish times
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1859 to 2 years ago available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - explore 150 years of Ireland's turbulent history, rich culture, & complex political climate - comprehensive news reporting, along with sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, & more from The Irish Times & its related periodicals.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Toronto star
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1894 to 2 years ago available online:
Full Text - Includes every page of every newspaper issue: -news that shaped each day + editorial & opinion articles, business pages, political cartoons, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, birth & marriage notices - Browse by date or search by keyword(s) or phrase - Retrieves PDF images of relevant pages.
Regional business news
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full Text - Over 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Repère
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 580,000+ records describing articles from 660+ French-language academic, news & general interest journals from Quebec & the rest of Canada, France, Belgium & Switzerland - more than 120,000 records feature links to full-text.
Times digital archive, 1785-1985
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1785-1985 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Over 7,000,000 articles - Covers the entire Times (London) newspaper for the period specified, including articles, advertisements, illustrations/photos - Offers keyword searching or date browsing to retrieve facsimile images of a specific article or a complete page
ViewsWire
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Index, full-text - a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit - delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world - uses material from the Economist, CFO Magazine and the Journal of Commerce, the Financial Times, the BBC Monitoring division, China Online and the OECD, among others.

News - Also to Consider

British Library newspapers. Part I,1800-1900
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - full runs of 47 influential national & regional newspapers published in Victorian Britain: dailies, weeklies + penny papers - over 2.2 million pages of searchable digitized primary content covering 19th century English, Scottish & Irish life: politics, international affairs, business, sport, entertainment & the arts.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.