Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Patents and Trademarks - Try These First

Canadian patents database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1869-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - search, retrieve & study 2,310,000+ Canadian patents - search using patent number, IPC/CPC, PCT applications, licensing, language of filing or by words in inventor, inventor country, owner, owner country, title, abstract & claims' fields - searches can be restricted to selected date ranges.
Espacenet
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - free access to 90+ million patent documents describing inventions & technical developments from around the world - search & find patent publications, machine-translate patent documents, track the progress of emerging technologies, find solutions to technical problems.
Google patents
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1782-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 87+ million records describing patents / patent applications from 17 patent offices around the world - includes patent summary, claims, drawings, citations & referenced by notes + full-text - to facilitate prior art searching, Google Patents links to copies of technical documents & books in Google Scholar or Google Books - patents & supporting documents with non-English text are machine-translated to English & indexed - patent documents are machine-classified using the Cooperative Patent Classification to facilitate patent searching / finding.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Trademark electronic search system : TESS
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers more than 3 million pending, registered or dead U.S. federal trademarks - TESS provides full access to text & images of registered trademarks as published in the Trademark Official Gazette.

Patents and Trademarks - More Specifically

Canadian trade-marks database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1979-present available online:
Index - Contains all active and many inactive trade-marks, dating back to 1865 - Includes all trade-marks abandoned, refused, cancelled or expunged after 1979 as well as documentation on other words and designs protected by trade-mark legislation.
Freepatentsonline
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
Index, Full Text - Covers patents & patent applications from the United States, Japan & Europe -- Records include links to PDF copies of most patents covered by FPO.
FSTA : food science and technology abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1969-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Abstracts - Covers food science & technology, including nutrition, biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, packaging, pet foods & all the major food commodities - Includes 900,000+ highly informative abstracts describing food-relevant articles from over 4,600 serial publications.
Patentscope
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
This facility allows you to search a wealth of international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents available to the International Bureau.
Science.gov : USA.gov for science
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics.
SciFinder
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text Links - Over 10,000 journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities - Searches Chemical Abstracts and other databases, including Medline - Covers many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more - Also includes organic and inorganic substance information.
USPTO patent full-text and image database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - search the full-text of 3,000,000+ U.S. patents issued 1976-present + bibliographic data describing 4,000,000+ more patents issued 1790-1975 - covers utility, design & plant patents - the Web Patent Full-Page Images Database (PatImg) provides links to PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.

Patents and Trademarks - Also to Consider

Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
WorldWideScience.org
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available.