Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Pharmacy - Try These First

Cochrane library : evidence for health care decision-making
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1996-present available online:
User Guide
Variable Coverage - Consists mainly of 6 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effects; Cochrane central register of controlled trials; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database; NHS economic evaluation database.
EMBASE.com
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index and Abstracts - Over 11 million records from EMBASE; 7 million records from MEDLINE - Covers pharmacological and biomedical research literature.
PubMed
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1948-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added.

Pharmacy - More Specifically

AccessPharmacy
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2007-present available online:
Index, full-text -- comprises thousands of chapters from 80 e-texts central to pharmacy education + leading pharmacy online references -- complete current editions, including DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, the Lange Basic & Clinical Pharmacology and Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, and more -- covers drugs, cases & patient education + study tools.
CCOHS academic support program
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers a broad range of environmental and occupational health & safety topics - the OSH References Collection provides 740,000+ article summaries from authoritative, international OSH databases: OSHLINE®, NIOSHTIC®, NIOSHTIC-2, HSELINE, CISILO and more - CCOHS offers cross-database searching of the OSH References collection + MSDS, CHEMINFO, RTECS, CHEMpendium, Canadian legislation & standards + several free resources: CHEMINDEX, ILO Encyclopaedia, INCHEM, OSH Answers & WHMIS classifications.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
DynaMed
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index, full-text - clinically-organized summaries for 3,200+ diseases, disorders & symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, diagnosis, diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment & prevention - topically-driven menu allows physicians, medical students & other health care professionals to research high-end synthesized information from respected publications, associations & contributing clinicians - includes 800+ topic summaries on AHFS Drug Information - updated daily with content from 500+ medical journals.
Health & medical collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1969-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - medical information resource comprising 7 million records describing articles from 3,600+ scholarly/trade journals (over 3,000 available in full-text) - covers major medical sciences, clinical & healthcare disciplines - also includes 9 million full-text stories from medical newswires + charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos & other graphical elements essential to medical research.
Health business fulltext elite
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1975-present (business content 1922-present) available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Access journal literature on non-clinical aspects of health care administration: hospital management / administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management, insurance - full text content from 570+ scholarly journals & trade magazines.
Lexicomp online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2015-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - collection of clinical databases & decision support tools covering Canadian, U.S. & generic drug names -- clinical databases include: Lexi-Drugs, AHFS Essentials (Adult and Pediatric), AHFS DI (Adult and Pediatric), Pediatric & Neonatal Lexi-Drugs, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs, Patient Education, Pregnancy & Lactation, Infectious Diseases, Drug Allergy & Idiosyncratic Reactions, Natural Products, Pharmacogenomics, Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics, Lexi-Tox Toxicology & Drugs MSDS, Laboratory & diagnostic procedures, Off-label Drug Information, Calculators, Martindale : the complete drug reference.
Natural medicines
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2013-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - up-to-date authoritative resource covering 90,000+ dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary, alternative & integrative therapies - each brand name product report summarizes safety, effectiveness, dosing, adverse effects, toxicology, interactions, pharmacokinetics + evidence for each ingredient contained in the product and more - comprises several databases: Food, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Sports Medicine, Comparative Effectiveness, Manufacturers, Commercial Products & Medical Conditions.
Newfoundland and Labrador health bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1630, 1856-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises records describing journal articles, books/chapters, theses, anecdotal pieces, case reports & scholarly research concerning health, disease, medical conditions, health education & medical care in Newfoundland & Labrador - items listed in the NLHB are available at the Health Sciences Library.
Nursing & allied health database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1857-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.5+ million records describing articles on nursing, allied health, alternative & complementary medicine, etc. from scholarly / trade journals, magazines + dissertations, books/chapters, reports + 2.2+ million newswire stories + CultureGrams offering better understanding of care, diagnosis & treatment with respect to patient beliefs & practices for 200 countries - browse training videos on health care safety, emergency planning, checking vital signs, etc. - browse Study Paths: a curriculum-based topic tree to find key topics & recommended readings for a wide range of subjects.
PubMed dietary supplement subset
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Over 730,000 article citations -- Covering use and function of vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition, fortification of foods with supplemental nutrients, nutrient composition of herbal and botanical products, and growth and production of herbal and botanical products.
SciFinder
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text Links - Over 10,000 journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities - Searches Chemical Abstracts and other databases, including Medline - Covers many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more - Also includes organic and inorganic substance information.
TOXLINE : toxicology bibliographic information
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index and Abstracts - Over 4 million records - Covers the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals - Includes journal articles, research literature, technical reports - Many records include CAS Registry Numbers - From the National Library of Medicine (U.S.).

Pharmacy - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Annual reviews
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1932-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1789-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992].
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Federal Science Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business.
Google patents
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1782-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 87+ million records describing patents / patent applications from 17 patent offices around the world - includes patent summary, claims, drawings, citations & referenced by notes + full-text - to facilitate prior art searching, Google Patents links to copies of technical documents & books in Google Scholar or Google Books - patents & supporting documents with non-English text are machine-translated to English & indexed - patent documents are machine-classified using the Cooperative Patent Classification to facilitate patent searching / finding.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
IsisCB explore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1974-2014 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1895-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more .
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.