Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Political Science - Try These First

International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
PAIS index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers international policy oriented literature: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science & technology - Comprises 625,800 records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more.
Political science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - covers the literature of political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, & hundreds of related topics - indexes more that 500 publications, including 300 full-text scholarly journals.
Worldwide political science abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers politics & political science: international relations & trade, law, electoral systems, developing nations, disarmament, environmental policy, security & military policy, public administration, etc. - comprises 1.5 million records describing journal articles, books/chapters, dissertations, reviews.

Political Science - More Specifically

ABC CLIO eBook collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health.
Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
AfricaBib
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Index - search 220,000+ records describing Africana social science periodical literature - comprises records from 2 major bibliographies: Africana periodical literature and African women's literature + a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers & explorers to Africa + several smaller topical bibliographies.
AgEcon search : research in agricultural and applied economics
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers scholarly literature in agricultural & applied economics, including: agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, agricultural trade, etc.; search results include full-text of journal articles, conference papers & working papers.
Alternative press index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1969-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : ABSEES
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1939-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Subjects: anthropology; culture & the arts; economics; politics; education; and geography - Journal articles, books & their chapters, dissertations, online resources and government documents are indexed - See EBSEES for additional coverage.
Applied social sciences index and abstracts : ASSIA
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1987-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive source of social science & health information for the practical and academic professional: health services, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, education - comprises 375,000 records describing research articles from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature.
Bibliographieportal zur Geschichte Ostmitteleuropas = Bibliography portal on the history of East Central Europe
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 800,000+ records describing scholarly literature concerning the history of Eastern Central European areas - covers journal articles, books/chapters & encyclopedias/articles - maintained by the Herder Institut for an international consortium.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers.
Business market research collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Conduct company, industry, economic & geopolitical market research using: a. Hoover's Company Profiles (covering 40,000 global public & non-public companies, including financials, competitors, officers & more) - b. OxResearch (succinct articles on regional economic & political developments) – c. US Industry & Market Reports – d. Worldwide Industry & Market Reports (covering global industries in depth) – e. Snapshots (market research overviews on 40+ industries & 40 countries).
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1789-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992].
CIAO : Columbia international affairs online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises working papers, policy briefs & current analysis / commentary + scholarly journal articles, e-books & videos online from 300+ government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, etc. - covers international politics & related fields: security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies & environmental studies - includes country surveys with in-depth political & economic data + detailed maps from the Economist Intelligence Unit.
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1998-present available online:
Full-text - research reports, case studies, detailed findings, periodicals, conference presentations from the Conference Board of Canada - Canadian Economic trends: federal, provincial, metropolitan, consumer & business attitudes, industry sector analysis - Organizational performance: corporate finance, governance & social responsibility, human resources management, risk management - Public policy: innovation, taxation, trade & investment policy, socio-economic performance, health economics, education & learning.
Country report
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1996-present available online:
Index, full-text - access online quarterly reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit describing national, regional & global events that will affect business in nearly 200 countries - reports examine issues affecting each country: political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, foreign trade & payments - detailed two-year forecasts + statistical data complement each analysis & pinpoint political / economic trends.
désLibris
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
Index, full-text - Open Access Documents from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres & other public interest groups - This collection represents the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy and health and medical research.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Digital National Security Archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1942-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text -- Covers critical post World War II international events, countries & U.S. foreign policy decisions -- Comprises 80,000+ declassified primary documents organized in 36 subject collections -- Includes glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, & photographs.
DTIC online : information for the defense community
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available.
Encyclopedia of life support systems
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2004-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - compendium of twenty multi-volume encyclopedias covering trans-disciplinary relationships between nature & human society - disciplinary & interdisciplinary articles cover environmental & health aspects of the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering & technology ; discuss effective approaches for managing natural resources like renewable & non-renewable energy, biodiversity, ecology, hydrology, health, agriculture & more.
Eureka.cc
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 4,000+ local, regional, national & international news sources: newspapers, newswires, radio & television transcripts, trade publications, selected blogs & Web sites; 80,000+ new articles each day - includes 450,000 corporate histories & 130,000 biographical profiles - Full-text coverage for 10+ newspapers from Newfoundland & Labrador.
Europa world plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current information available online:
User Guide
Index, data, full-text - economic, political, historical & geographic profiles with statistics for 250+ countries & global regions - includes contact information for national political, business, media & cultural agencies / officials + 1,900 international organizations - search / browse by country, region, organization, person.
European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : EBSEES = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1991-2007 available online:
Index - Over 85,500 titles - Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern Europe (former Communist countries) that were published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Great Britain, and Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland - Covers the social sciences and humanities.
Factiva
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Find credible facts, pinpoint trends, perform precise research, update news stories using 35,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages - Covers influential local / national / international newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data, hard facts and numbers.
GreenFILE
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1910-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 538,000+ records describing well-researched scholarly articles, government & industry reports, & general-interest publications concerning human impacts on the environment - Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental education, law, health &technology - Includes Open Access full text for more than 5,800 items.
HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1935-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year.
ICPSR bibliography of data-related literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1962-present available online:
User Guide
Index, data - continuously-updated database comprising 60,000+ records describing works which used data - covers journal articles, books, book chapters, government & agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine & newspaper articles, audiovisual materials - links to the data used in the reports are also provided.
IMF eLibrary
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1946-present available online:
Index, full-text - access content from periodicals, books, working papers and studies + data and statistical tools from the International Monetary Fund's - covers macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
Index to Jewish periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish history, activity and thought - intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
international studies encyclopedia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2017 available online:
Index, full-text - online version of the International Studies Encyclopedia - comprises specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays from the world's top scholars in international studies, international relations & world politics - links to selected datasets in international studies.
Ipsos polls, news and research
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index, full-text - survey-based reports written by Ipsos research professionals in North America and around the world. Reports contain detailed data tables, demographic breakdowns, charts or PowerPoint slides.
Irish newspaper archives
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700s-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full text - Keyword searchable online archive of Irish national, regional & specialty newspapers - over 6 million pages from over 500,000 issues of Irish Newspaper publications.
Military database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1916-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers military & government matters: international relations, foreign policy, political science, armed forces & defense, national security, war, aeronautics & space flight, navigation, communications, civil engineering & more - comprises records describing 3 million articles from 725+ trade / scholarly journals & magazines [most full-text] + 12.3 million stories from newspapers & newswires + 1 million technical reports, etc.
Österreichische historische Bibliographie : ÖHB
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
Index - Over 200,000 titles - The OHB (Austrian Historical Bibliography) is a bibliography of historical literature published in Austrian books, periodicals, festschriften and dissertations since 1945 and relating primarily to Austrian history.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
Philosopher's index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers philosophy & its interdisciplinary fields: ethics, aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, political philosophy, social philosophy - Comprises 540,000+ records describing articles from 1,600+ journals + books, anthologies, encyclopedias, etc.
Policy file index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - find information on both sides of a public policy debate in 200,000 reports from 350+ public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups & other entities, e.g. Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation - over 75 public policy topics are covered; organizational types & their political leaning can be searched.
Project Muse
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - leading provider of digital humanities & social science content for the scholarly community - Complete, full-text articles in academic journals from 200+ university presses & learned societies + indexing for their scholarly books.
ProQuest ebook central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.
Repère
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 580,000+ records describing articles from 660+ French-language academic, news & general interest journals from Quebec & the rest of Canada, France, Belgium & Switzerland - more than 120,000 records feature links to full-text.
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Social science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text.
SSRN eLibrary
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Abstracts, full-text -- Comprises abstracts describing 581,000+ papers contributed by scholars worldwide, with links to full text - its Electronic Paper Collection offers full-text for 482,000+ working papers in PDF format -- Bibliometric analysis: 9 million references & 9.1 million footnotes have been matched to 6 million citations in EPC papers -- Entries include complete title, author, affiliation, ORCID IDs, abstract or description, keywords & distribution history.
UNBISnet : UN bibliographic information system
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1979-present; resolutions 1946-present available online:
Index - Covers United Nations documentation - Includes records for UN documents, commercial publications, and other sources - Full text links to UN resolutions, voting records, and speeches of the General Assembly (1983-), the Security Council (1983-), the Economic and Social Council (1983-), and the Trusteeship Council (1982-).
ViewsWire
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Index, full-text - a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit - delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world - uses material from the Economist, CFO Magazine and the Journal of Commerce, the Financial Times, the BBC Monitoring division, China Online and the OECD, among others.
Women in politics : bibliographic database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1948-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers books, reports & journal articles on all aspects of women's participation in political life worldwide - international, regional, country-by-country as well as thematic perspectives.
Women's studies international
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers women's studies, feminist research & related topics worldwide - Includes records for over 871,000 articles from 2000+ journals, newspapers, bulletins, books, conference proceedings, theses & dissertations, NGO studies, reports, Web sites & documents.

Political Science - Also to Consider

Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Annual reviews
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1932-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Dialnet
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1895-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more .
National Academies Press
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education.
Non-governmental organizations search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index, full-text – custom search covering content from 1,100+ web sites of international & non-governmental (NGOs) or civil society (CSOs) organizations.
Official document system
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1946-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers official United Nations documentation from 1993 to present: documents, resolutions & administrative issuances of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council and their subsidiaries - thousands of scanned documents published 1946-1993 have been added.
Open Knowledge Repository
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
ProQuest social sciences premium collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Includes databases covering international literature in the social sciences: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts + International Bibliography of the Social Sciences + PAIS International + Worldwide Political Science Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts + Sociological Abstracts + ERIC + Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts + PILOTS ( Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) - Provides bibliographic access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.