Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Psychology - Try These First |
|
| APA handbook of giftedness and talent | |
|
Access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| "This handbook incorporates the most recent thinking and cutting-edge research from a wide range of fields related to gifted education, including developmental and social psychology, the neurosciences, cognitive science, and education. It consists of six sections: History and global perspectives on the gifted field and talent development; Theories and conceptions of giftedness and talent development; Gifted identification and assessment; Gifted education; Psychological considerations in understanding the gifted (e.g., the family, social and emotional considerations, friendships and peer relations); and Special issues facing the gifted (e.g., policy and legal issues; the twice exceptional learner; underachievement and the gifted; ADHD and the gifted; suicide; perfectionism; bullying)."--Publicity materials (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2017 APA, all rights reserved). | |
| APA PsycInfo | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1840-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations. | |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1901-present: |
|
| For tests covered in both Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, the database provides a single combined comprehensive record that combines Tests in Print Citation with the Mental Measurements Full Text Review. | |
| PsycBOOKS | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
|
| Full Text - more than 38,000 PDF chapters from over 2,500 psychology ebooks - hundreds of current APA books; 1,600+ classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology - 1,500 authored entries from the APA "Encyclopedia of Psychology". | |
| Psychology database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1920-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 1.97 million records describing articles on behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial & social psychology from scholarly / trade journals, magazines, news wires, books, theses, etc. - also covers genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare & more + 307 brief training videos to help bridge theory & practice. | |
| PubMed | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1948-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
Psychology - More Specifically |
|
| Applied social sciences index and abstracts : ASSIA | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1987-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprehensive source of social science & health information for the practical and academic professional: health services, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, education - comprises 375,000 records describing research articles from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, and reference works | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - real transcripts of more than 2000 therapy & counseling sessions, first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, & content from 50 reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database currently includes approximately 61,900 pages of material, including more than 14,000 pages of session transcripts, more than 22,000 pages of client narratives, and more than 24,000 pages of secondary reference material | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1951-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews. | |
| LGBTQ+ source | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1909-present : |
|
| This database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms. | |
| Linguistics & language behavior abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1973-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, geographical & anthropological linguistics & language sciences: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse analysis, nonverbal communication, learning disabilities, psycholinguistics - Includes 460,000+ descriptions of journal articles, books / chapters, reviews, & dissertations - Thesaurus comprising 3,700+ index terms available online. | |
| Nursing & allied health database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1857-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.5+ million records describing articles on nursing, allied health, alternative & complementary medicine, etc. from scholarly / trade journals, magazines + dissertations, books/chapters, reports + 2.2+ million newswire stories + CultureGrams offering better understanding of care, diagnosis & treatment with respect to patient beliefs & practices for 200 countries - browse training videos on health care safety, emergency planning, checking vital signs, etc. - browse Study Paths: a curriculum-based topic tree to find key topics & recommended readings for a wide range of subjects. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| PsycARTICLES | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1894-present available online: |
|
| Index, Abstracts, Full text - General psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology. | |
| PsycCritiques | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1956 to present available online: |
|
| Full Text - Book reviews covering more than 40,000 scholarly and professional books in psychology - Reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books. | |
| PsycEXTRA | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910 to present available online: |
|
| Index, Abstracts, Full Text - 170,000 records describing gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences - Technical, annual & government reports, conferences papers, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. | |
| PTSDpubs | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: |
|
| PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. | |
| RILM abstracts of music literature | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1967-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 620,000 records describing articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, and more - Topics range from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory. | |
| SAGE research methods | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1976-present available online |
|
| Index, full-text - Explore methods & concepts to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, write up findings - Focusing on research methodology, SRM can be used for the social sciences, health sciences, and more - comprises 175,000 pages of Sage book, journal & reference content. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| Social science database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text. | |
| SSRN eLibrary | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1995-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Abstracts, full-text -- Comprises abstracts describing 581,000+ papers contributed by scholars worldwide, with links to full text - its Electronic Paper Collection offers full-text for 482,000+ working papers in PDF format -- Bibliometric analysis: 9 million references & 9.1 million footnotes have been matched to 6 million citations in EPC papers -- Entries include complete title, author, affiliation, ORCID IDs, abstract or description, keywords & distribution history. | |
| TestLink : world's largest test collection database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Early 1900s to present available online: |
|
| Index - 25,000+ tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS - makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. | |
Psychology - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| Annual reviews | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1932-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| National Academies Press | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |