Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Social Work - Try These First

Applied social sciences index and abstracts : ASSIA
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1987-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive source of social science & health information for the practical and academic professional: health services, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, education - comprises 375,000 records describing research articles from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
SAGE video : social work collection
Internet access restricted to MUN users.
Coverage:
"The SAGE Video Social Work Collection brings real-world visual representation of what it means to learn, work, and lead in this expanding field of social work. The collection aims to showcase the skills necessary to become a social worker; give insights into different client groups; show practice at the micro, mezzo, and macro levels; and elevate understanding of how theory and policy relate to practice. In addition, the collection will cover the core areas of social work as defined by the Core Competencies published by the Council on Social Work Education and the Professional Capabilities Framework published by The British Association of Social Workers. Around 100 hours and 340+ videos on these topics: social work administration, social work practice, social work skills, social work profession, social work research methods"--Publisher's web site
Social services abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1979-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 162,000+ records describing journal articles, dissertations, & book reviews - links to current research focused on social work, family & social welfare, poverty & homelessness, addiction, gerontology, violence, abuse, & neglect, community & mental health services.
Social work abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Abstracts - Covers research sources for social work, including theory, practice, areas of service, social issues, therapy, education, addictions, child / family welfare, mental health, civil / legal rights - Records describe articles from 450 social work and human services journals.

Social Work - More Specifically

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
AgeLine
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Focuses on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging - Includes social gerontology & aging-related content from health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy - records describe articles from 200+ journals, books, book chapters & reports.
Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers.
Campbell library. Campbell systematic reviews
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
Index, full-text - peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews -- reviews follow structured guidelines & standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime & justice, education, international development & social welfare.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Catalog of nonprofit literature
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers the literature of philanthropy, fundraising, charitable giving, voluntarism, foundations & corporate giving and the nonprofit sector - Includes records for more than 30,000 articles, books, project reports, studies, and statistical analyses.
Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, and reference works
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - real transcripts of more than 2000 therapy & counseling sessions, first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, & content from 50 reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database currently includes approximately 61,900 pages of material, including more than 14,000 pages of session transcripts, more than 22,000 pages of client narratives, and more than 24,000 pages of secondary reference material
Criminal justice database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1981-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive international database covering 250+ criminal justice journals: criminology, law enforcement, corrections administration, addiction & drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, industrial security.
désLibris
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
Index, full-text - Open Access Documents from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres & other public interest groups - This collection represents the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy and health and medical research.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
ICPSR bibliography of data-related literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1962-present available online:
User Guide
Index, data - continuously-updated database comprising 60,000+ records describing works which used data - covers journal articles, books, book chapters, government & agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine & newspaper articles, audiovisual materials - links to the data used in the reports are also provided.
Index to Canadian legal literature : ICLL
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Aug. 1985-present available online:
Index -- covers Canadian secondary legal literature including articles, case comments & annotations from 220+ Canadian legal / law-related journals + books, essays, government publications, theses, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials from law societies, working papers from law faculties & legal research institutes –- in English & French.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1901-present:
For tests covered in both Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, the database provides a single combined comprehensive record that combines Tests in Print Citation with the Mental Measurements Full Text Review.
NCJRS abstracts database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 220,000+ summaries describing resources in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service library collection - includes government documents, books, research reports, journal articles & unpublished research - covers: corrections, courts, crime & crime prevention, drugs & substance abuse, law enforcement & the justice system, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness & victims.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
PsycINFO
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1840-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations.
PTSDpubs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage:
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
SAGE research methods
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1976-present available online
Index, full-text - Explore methods & concepts to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, write up findings - Focusing on research methodology, SRM can be used for the social sciences, health sciences, and more - comprises 175,000 pages of Sage book, journal & reference content.
Social science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text.
SocINDEX with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Covers sociology and closely related areas of study: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1952-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - In-depth, non-evaluative records describing journal articles & book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications + abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers - Covers international literature of sociology, including crime, demography, ethnic relations, family & social welfare, substance abuse, social planning, social psychology, violence, etc.

Social Work - Also to Consider

Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1789-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992].
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1895-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more .
Open Knowledge Repository
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest social sciences premium collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Includes databases covering international literature in the social sciences: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts + International Bibliography of the Social Sciences + PAIS International + Worldwide Political Science Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts + Sociological Abstracts + ERIC + Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts + PILOTS ( Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) - Provides bibliographic access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.