Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Standards - Try These First

ANSI webstore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1895-present available online:
Index - covers current, reaffirmed, amended & withdrawn standards from 100+ standards development organizations (U.S., other national & international) - searchable by keyword or document number - When a required STANDARD IS NOT AVAILABLE in our collections, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty & staff; CONTACT THE QEII LIBRARY at http://www.library.mun.ca/forms/recommend/
IHS markit standards store
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current and historical standards available online:
User Guide
Sale listings - indexes & describes 800,000+ engineering standards, codes & design specifications from over 400 leading Standards Development Organizations (SDOs) + military / government standards, specifications & handbooks, technical reports & news - When a required STANDARD IS NOT AVAILABLE in our collections, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty & staff - CONTACT THE QEII LIBRARY at http://www.library.mun.ca/forms/recommend/
Techstreet store
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Sale listings - covers 500,000+ industry codes & standards from international, national, state & local organizations - subjects include: Boiler, Construction, Electronics, Telecommunications, Energy, Petrochemical, Safety, Food, Medical, Water, Welding - browse catalogues from hundreds of standards development organizations or search by keyword, document name or standard number - When a required STANDARD IS NOT AVAILABLE in our collections, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty & staff - CONTACT THE QEII LIBRARY at http://www.library.mun.ca/forms/recommend/

Standards - More Specifically

ASME standards collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1958-present available online:
Index, full-text - collection of industry codes and standards issued by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. MUN users go to top right "Click here to access via institutional account".
ASSIST quick search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index, full-text - access over 111,000 official specifications & standards used by the U.S. Department of Defense - includes full text of the DoD Index of Specifications and Standards (DODISS) - When accessing ASSIST, a security certificate problem message may appear: Internet Explorer - click on "Continue to this website; FireFox - click on "I Understand the Risks" then "Add Exception," at bottom of window, click "Confirm Exception."
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1981-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - access 12,500 current ASTM standards & selected journals from one convenient platform -- covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, food, geological, health & safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science & solar engineering - CONTACT THE QEII LIBRARY at http://www.library.mun.ca/forms/recommend/ when required STPs, data series, journal articles & manuals are not available in the collection.
Canadian General Standards Board standards
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - includes CGSB standards that cover environmental protection, hazardous products, workplace health & safety, WHMIS, transportation of dangerous goods, fire safety, workers' compensation, pesticides, noise levels, Canada Labour Code, etc. - standards in this collection have been cited in Canadian federal or provincial legislation concerning environmental or workplace health & safety issues.
Canadian Standards Association standards
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - includes CSA standards that cover environmental protection, hazardous products, workplace health & safety, WHMIS, transportation of dangerous goods, fire safety, workers' compensation, pesticides, noise levels, Canada Labour Code, etc. - standards in this collection have been cited in Canadian federal or provincial legislation concerning environmental or workplace health & safety issues.
CPA Canada standards and guidance collection (CPACHB)
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprehensive collection of Canadian tax, accounting, finance & other business information resources - includes: current CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection, International Financial Reporting, federal & provincial tax collections + news, publications & data from Ernst & Young, superseded CICA Handbook.
IEEE Xplore
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Full content 1988-present ; select IEEE content 1913-1987; select IET content 1965-1987 available online:
User Guide
Standards and Full Text - Over 1 million full text articles from over 12,000 publications - Includes access to literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related fields - Contains IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
IHS engineering workbench
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Designed by technical professionals for technical professionals, Engineering Workbench™ from IHS Markit provides unified access to a vast curated knowledge-base of standards, eBooks, patents, journal articles and much more. Paired with cutting-edge knowledge discovery technology and content analytics, it solves the ‘information overload’ challenge by providing a single point of access to the content and tools needed to advance innovation, maximize productivity, and reduce risk.
ITU-T recommendations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index, Full Text - Collection of international standards developed by the Telecommunication Standardization Sector of the ITU, including the Recommendations in force which are organized by series and available in Microsoft Word for Windows or Adobe Acrobat PDF file formats.
National fire codes subscription service
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index, full-text - access to 300+ NFPA consensus codes, standards & handbooks intended to eliminate death, injury, property & economic loss due to fire, electrical & related hazards - current & previous editions.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index - search, retrieve, download, print technical, scientific & educational publications from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - includes 7,000+ print & 35,000+ digital documents, including reports, papers, test methods, standards, guidelines & more
NISO standards and publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1992-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers current & draft standards for information coding & exchange: NISO standards apply to both traditional & new technologies and to information across its whole lifecycle, from creation through documentation, use, repurposing, storage, metadata & preservation.
Regs4ships
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text -- searchable database comprising shipping & maritime codes, regulations, legislation & documents from the International Maritime Organization [IMO], International Labour Organization, European Union + Maritime & Coastguard Agency & other U.K. government departments.
Science.gov : USA.gov for science
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics.

Standards - Also to Consider

British standards online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings -- comprises 50,000+ records describing current & historic standards, books & related publications available at the BSI Shop -- When a required STANDARD IS NOT AVAILABLE in our collections, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty & staff - CONTACT THE QEII LIBRARY at http://www.library.mun.ca/forms/recommend/
IEC webstore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Sale listings - Includes electrical, electronic and related technologies - Standards are available in a variety of formats including electronic versions (PDF or CD/DVD), printed versions and by database subscriptions.
ISO store
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings - Catalog of almost all ISO standards and publications - When a required standard is unavailable in the collection, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty, and staff.
Linda Hall Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
Catalogue - the LHL is an independent research library for science, engineering & technology - Includes journals, books, conference proceedings, engineering standards, patent specifications, unclassified NASA, DOE & government contractor reports, publications from the major engineering societies & geological maps - explore its digital exhibitions of rare STEM books and sci/tech research guides.
SAE store
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings - Covers Society of Automotive Engineers standards, books, papers, magazines, product catalogues, Web/CD products, and training - When a required standard is unavailable in the collection, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty, and staff.
Shop CSA
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings - Online store offering standards, handbooks, and guidelines - Covers construction, engineering, electrical, energy, environmental, health and safety, information technology, mechanical and industrial equipment - When a required standard is unavailable in the collection, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty, and staff.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.