Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Theses/Dissertations - Try These First

BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
EThOS : e-theses online service
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 465,000+ records describing theses produced at 120 UK institutions for higher education - full-text of 160,000+ theses available via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository - others are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
OATD -- Open access theses and dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
"This is an index of over 1.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online."--About page.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.

Theses/Dissertations - More Specifically

American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Center for Research Libraries online catalog
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - the Center for Research Libraries collects research materials not targeted by other North American research institutions, many from Africa, the Middle East, Southeast & South Asia, Latin America - tabbed searchable collections include Serials
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
Dissertation reviews
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage:
Features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. The site offer readers a glimpse of each discipline's immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication. Dissertation Reviews also features reviews of and guides to archives, libraries, databases, and other collections where such dissertation research was conducted, to help scholars improve their ability to undertake current and future research.
DiVA : academic archive on-line
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Includes bibliographic data for research publications and student theses written at 37 Scandinavian universities and colleges - Links to full text included when available.
Doctoral dissertations in musicology
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Theses and Dissertations - Over 12,000 records, updated periodically through the academic year - Includes records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
IndCat : online union catalogue of Indian universities
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
Catalogue - unified Online Library Catalogue covering 181 major university libraries across India - includes bibliographic description, location & holdings information for 1.4+ million books, 35,200+ journals and 271,500+ doctoral theses in all subject areas.
OAIster
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue, linked full text - 25,000,000+ records representing open access digital resources from 1,100+ open archive collections - Covers digital resources in all subject areas - Includes digitized (scanned) books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts, etc + digital text, audio files, video files, photographic images, data sets, theses & research papers - Built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide.
OpenDOAR : directory of open access repositories
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Directory - A listing of over 1,800 open access repositories around the world - Search or browse by subject area, country, language, content type, repository type, or software.
PQDT open
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1964-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 38,000+ open access dissertations & theses - the authors of these dissertations have opted to publish their work as open access & make their research available for free on the open Web.
SUDOC catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Nearly 9 million records - Covers materials in French higher education and research libraries and resource centres - Includes books, dissertations, reviews, electronic resources, audio-visual documents, microfiche, maps, scores, and manuscripts.
Theses Canada portal = Portail de thèses Canada
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1965-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers 300,000+ Canadian theses, including dissertations added to the theses collection of the Library & Archives Canada since 1965 - Full-text of theses added after 1998 is available.

Theses/Dissertations - Also to Consider

Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.